Skip to main content

University of Sydney organisational changes

The University has made internal changes to the way its faculties and schools are organised.

These changes simplify the way we operate and will make it easier for students to navigate the University.

The current faculties of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing and Midwifery, and Pharmacy have been brought together as schools in a new, single Faculty of Medicine and Health, along with the schools of Medical Sciences and Public Health. In the future, the current Faculty of Health Sciences will also become a school in the new faculty.

The structural change will not have any impact on enrolment, the delivery of courses and industry placements, scholarships or honours programs. The changes will not affect courses or units of study, or the way in which they are taught.

Our faculties from 30 April 2018

  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
    • School of Economics
    • The University of Sydney School of Education and Social Work
    • School of Languages and Cultures
    • School of Literature, Art and Media (including Sydney College of the Arts)
    • School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
    • School of Social and Political Sciences
  • The University of Sydney Business School
  • Faculty of Engineering & Information Technologies
    • School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering
    • School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    • School of Civil Engineering
    • School of Electrical and Information Engineering
    • School of Information Technologies
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health
    • The University of Sydney School of Dentistry (Sydney Dental School)
    • The University of Sydney School of Medicine (Sydney Medical School)
    • School of Medical Sciences
    • The University of Sydney Susan Wakil School of Nursing and Midwifery (Sydney Nursing School)
    • The University of Sydney School of Pharmacy (Sydney Pharmacy School)
    • The University of Sydney School of Public Health (Sydney School of Public Health)

      10 clinical schools:
    • The University of Sydney Central Clinical School
    • The University of Sydney Children’s Hospital Westmead Clinical School
    • The University of Sydney Concord Clinical School
    • The University of Sydney Nepean Clinical School
    • The University of Sydney Northern Clinical School
    • The University of Sydney Adventist Hospital Clinical School
    • The University of Sydney Westmead Clinical School
    • School of Rural Health (Dubbo/Orange)
    • The Broken Hill University Department of Rural Health
    • The University Centre for Rural Health (Northern Rivers)
  • Faculty of Science
    • School of Chemistry
    • School of Geosciences
    • School of History and Philosophy of Science
    • School of Life and Environmental Sciences
    • School of Mathematics and Statistics
    • School of Physics
    • School of Psychology
    • The University of Sydney School of Veterinary Science

Our University schools

  • The University of Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning
  • The University of Sydney Law School
  • Sydney Conservatorium of Music

How the University is organised

Discipline: An intellectual community based on an internationally recognised field of inquiry. For example, the discipline of Business Law within the University of Sydney Business School and the discipline of Pathology at Sydney Medical School.

Faculty: The primary academic grouping within the University, made up of broad complementary disciplinary groups, in which teaching and research are delivered. Faculties are further organised into narrower groups (i.e. schools and departments or disciplines) to support collaboration in research and teaching.

Institute: Conducts research on specific topics. The University teaches the discipline of agriculture through the School of Life and Environmental Sciences in the Faculty of Science. Multidisciplinary agriculture research endeavour is delivered through the University of Sydney Institute of Agriculture. .

School within a faculty: An academic unit where staff have a common disciplinary and/or inter-disciplinary research and teaching responsibility.  Some faculties have become schools within a faculty to increase the potential for those schools to work together in teaching and research. 

University school: Similar to schools within faculties but does not share the broad disciplinary connections with the larger faculty groupings. For example, the University decided that the three previous faculties of Architecture, Design and Planning, Law and Sydney Conservatorium of Music would not gain any increased advantages by being brought into a larger faculty grouping.

Clinical school: An academic unit located in a healthcare setting where staff have common disciplinary and/or inter-disciplinary research, clinical delivery and teaching responsibilities.

Last updated: 20 April 2018

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.