External Advisory Committee

In 2008 the Department created an External Advisory Committee to help it relate to its community partners and to respond to the challenges of the future.
Click here for the terms of reference.
Click here for its membership.

A report detailing the activities of the Committee (Triennial Reports 2011-2014) is available here.
A report detailing the activities of the Committee (Triennial Reports 2008-2011) is available here.

Community partners include the patrons who support student prizes and scholarships, the organizations and individuals that host placements for student interns, experts who contribute guest lectures to students, Honorary Associates and Emeriti, professionals who deliver units of study with a practitioner flavour, research associates, media contacts, and more generally the employers of graduates and the graduates themselves as alumni.

External Advisory Committee meeting minutes


EAC 33: 8 September

EAC 32: 14 July

EAC 31: 31 March


EAC 30: 10 December

EAC 29: 10 September

EAC 28: 18 June

EAC 27:  26 March


EAC 26:  10 December

EAC 25:  11 September

EAC 24:  12 June

EAC 23:  13 March


EAC 22:  12 December

EAC 21: 12 September

EAC 20:  13 June

EAC 19:  14 March


EAC 18: 6 December

EAC 17: 20 September

EAC 16: 7 June

EAC 15: 15 March 


EAC 14: 2 December

EAC 13: 8 September

EAC 12: 9 June

EAC 11: 17 March


EAC 10: 9 December

EAC 9: 9 September

EAC 8: 18 June

EAC 7: 4 March 


EAC 6: 3 December

EAC 5: 25 September

EAC 4: 26 June

EAC 3: 27 March 


EAC 2: 4 December

EAC 1: 26 September 

Best and the Brightest 2015

On Tuesday 26 May 2015 the Department of Government and International Relations presented the achievements of recent IVth honours graduates. The occasion was hosted by the President of the Legislative Council, the Honorable Mr Don Harwin, MLC, at the NSW Parliament House on Macquarie Street in the city. Mr. Harwin completed Honours in the Department. Mr. Alister Henskens who majored in Government and International Relation in the 1980s chaired the proceedings. Guests continued the discussion with students at a reception after the presentations.

Best and The Brightest 2015 Finalist

Max Kiefel, Francesca Johanson, Abigail Taylor, Mr. Alister Henskens, Solange Handley, Tim Matthews

A panel of five recent graduates spoke about their research:

  • Abigail Taylor: Rethinking human dignity and rights/
  • Tim Matthews: Clerical child sexual abuse
  • Francesca Johanson: Myanmar’s capital city, Nay Pyi Taw
  • Solange Handley: Income management and social policy
  • Max Kiefel: United Kingdom Independence Party
2015 Best and The Brightest Finalist
Audience at the 2015 Best and The Brightest event

Alumni and others attended. Current student staffed the welcome desk. There was a lively exchange of questions and answers during the session followed by a reception for further, informal discussion. The program published the abstracts of all theses from 2014.

The program for Best and Brightest with all theses abstracts is here.

Photographs from he evening can be found at this link: 2015_05_26 FASS Best & Brightest 30%.

For further information about the Committee and its projects contact