Units of Study

GOVT1101 - Australian Politics

Semester 1, 2011  |  Credit Points: 6

Coordinator: Anika Astrida Gauja


This unit introduces students to debates about the nature and limits of Australian democracy, to the major institutions of Australian politics, and to the distribution of power in Australian society. Major institutions and forces such as parliament, executive government, the federal system, political parties and the media are examined as arenas of power, conflict and consensus. Who rules? How? Which groups are excluded?


1x2000wd essay (40%), 1x1000wd critical research exercise (10%), 1x 2hr exam (40%) and tutorial participation (10%)


Texts to be advised.


1x2hr lecture/week, 1x1hr tutorial/week commencing week 2

A timetable is not available for this session.
Please refer to the list of Units of Study on the left-hand menu to view the units on offer for the relevant academic year.

The information displayed above is indicative only as online information is subject to change without notice. The Faculty Handbook and the University of Sydney Calendar are the official legal source of information relating to study at the University of Sydney