Academics and Key Leaders

Former GSG Academic Staff

  • Associate Professor Joanne Kelly
  • Dr Stephen Mills
  • Professor David Richmond AO
    Inaugural GSG Director
  • Professor Deborah Brennan
  • Professor Louise Chappell
  • Professor Ian Marsh
  • Professor Allan McConnell
  • Richard Mills
  • Dr Zina O'Leary
  • Professor Rodney Smith
  • Dr Tim Soutphommasane
  • Kristy Ward

Course Practitioners and Guest Speakers

A key element of the Graduate School of Government's teaching methodology is our guest speaker program. Each week the GSG invites a practitioner to draw upon their experience to discus and give insight to the issues in public sector management and leadership, in both our coursework and executive programs.

Practitioners include members of parliament (former and current), leaders from the public, private and NGO sectors, and academics with the knowledge of current theories and practices.

Prime Ministers of Australia

  • The Hon. Bob Hawke AC GCL
  • The Hon. John Howard OM AC SSI
  • The Hon. Paul Keating

Australian State Premiers

  • The Hon. Steve Bracks AC (Victoria)
  • The Hon. Bob Carr (NSW)
  • The Hon. Geoff Gallop AC (Western Australia)
  • Wayne Goss (Queensland)
  • The Hon. Nick Greiner AC (NSW)
  • The Hon. Morris Iemma (NSW)
  • The Hon. Kristina Keneally (NSW)
  • The Hon. Mike Rann CNZM (South Australia)

Foreign Heads of State

The Right Hon. Helen Clark ONZ SSI

Other Practitioners and Guest Speakers

  • Peter Achterstraat AM
  • Professor John Alford
  • Margaret Allison
  • The Hon. John Aquilina
  • Stephen Brady
  • Sarina Bratton
  • Lynelle Briggs
  • Jody Broun
  • Linda Burney
  • Lyn Carson
  • Vivek Chaudri
  • Associate Professor Ken Coghill
  • The Hon. Peter Collins
  • Peter Connolly
  • Dr Elizabeth Coombs
  • Michael Egan
  • Paul Elton
  • Linda English
  • Michael Eyers
  • Robert Fitzgerald
  • Brad Fitzmaurice
  • The Hon. Patricia Forsythe
  • Paul Forward
  • Laurie Glanfield
  • Dr Nicholas Gruen
  • Richard Hall
  • Clive Hamilton
  • Brian Head
  • Elaine Henry
  • Peter Horne
  • Rebecca Huntley
  • Dr Gul Izmir
  • Maria Katsonis
  • Professor John Keane
  • Paul Kelly
  • Kristina Keneally
  • Stephan Kerkyasharian
  • Gabrielle Kibble AO
  • David Knott
  • Russell Lansbury
  • Dr Simon Longstaff
  • John Mant
  • Wendy McCarthy
  • Don McKenzie
  • Paul McLeay
  • Dorothy McRae-McMahon
  • Max Moore-Wilton
  • Dr Joy Murray
  • Don Nutbeam
  • Margy Osmond
  • Susan Pascoe
  • Dr Timothy Pascoe
  • Robert Peck
  • Mark Pellowe
  • Rod Quill
  • Superintendent Robert Redfern
  • Matt Roberts
  • The Hon. Susan Ryan
  • Neil Sandall
  • Kerry Schott
  • Michael Schur
  • Air Vice Captain Mark Skidmore
  • The Hon. Carmel Tebutt
  • Peter Thompson
  • Michael Thorn
  • Dr Ingird van Beek