Graduate School of Government has three prizes awarded to a student at the end of each year.

IPAA NSW, FA Bland Prize for academic excellence in Strategic Administration.

Graduate School of Government prize for academic excellence in the Work Based Project.
Established in 2009 it is awarded to the most proficient student in the GSG Work Based Project (perviously sponsored by Deloitte).

NSW Public Service Commission award in Public Administration for overall academic performance in the Graduate Diploma of Public Administration. This award, to the value of $8000, is a travelling prize which can be used for travel in Australia or overseas to undertake research about domestic or international best practice. The reports from previous winners are listed below. (Previously sponsored by Department of Premier and Cabinet 2009 and 2010).

IPAA NSW, FA Bland Prize
Year Name Agency
2009 Paul Gaynor Transport NSW
2010 Rami Affan RailCorp
2011 Richard Beecham NSW Office of Water
2012 Leah Anderson Education and Communities
2013 Jodi McKay Family Planning NSW
Work Based Project prize
Year Name Agency
2013 Philip Sherwin Education and Communities
Deloitte Prize
Year Name Agency
2009 David Walsh Community Services
2010 Neville Prior Roads and Traffic Authority
2011 Gerard Azar NSW Ambulance Services
2012 Lance Schema ACON
NSW Public Service Commission award in Public Administration
Year Name Agency
2011 Anthony Leviston Finance and Services
2012 Patrick Paroz NSW Police Force
2013 Joanna Battersby Ageing, Disabilities and Home Care, Family and Community Services
Department of Premier and Cabinet award in Public Administration
Year Name Agency
2009 Natalie Camilleri Roads and Traffic Authority
2010 Alan Morrison Ambulance Service of NSW
Study Tour Research Reports

Natalie Camilleri Federal and state relations in road transport policy in the USA: Focusing on the importance of strategic planning to guide investment decisions.

In the United States, federal legislation mandates long range strategic transport planning and transport improvement programming at both the state-wide and metropolitan levels as a necessary precursor to funding allocation. There is no such statutory equivalent in Australia. Statutory processes around these key processes and products form the focus of the research.

Alan Morrison Health Reform and Ambulance Trust Service Delivery: A Public Value Perspective.

Paramedics and ambulance services are an important part of the healthcare continuum. Their contribution however has been overlooked in the Australian health reform agenda. This paper uses the Public Value paradigm of Mark Moore to report the impact of UK health policy and National Health Service reform on ambulance service delivery. Implications for the Australian context are identified and discussed.

Anthony Leviston Managing People Through Change.

Implementing organisational change is the work of managers, because they manage the people who are required to change what they do and how they behave. Managers from three public organisations were interviewed about their actions during specific periods of organisational change, revealing seven common behaviours supporting organisational change.