Units of Study

Degree stucture

The degree consists of a foundational semester and a one-week inter-sessional intensive (from July to November) at the University of Sydney and a second semester (from January to May) at one of four regional partner institutions: Mahidol University (Thailand), Gadjah Mada University (Indonesia), Kathmandu School of Law (Nepal) and the University of Colombo (Sri Lanka).

Semester 1

The first semester curriculum consists of a foundational program at the University of Sydney, made up of four core units of study. These units are compulsory for all students and include the following:

  • HRTD6901 - Human Rights Norms and Mechanisms I
  • HRTD6902 - Human Rights and Democratisation Research
  • HRTD6903 - Dynamics of Human Rights Violations
  • HRTD6904 - Democratisation: Theory and Practice

Having completed these four units, students will undertake a one-week intensive, HRTD6905 - Human Rights and Democratisation Intensive, also at the University of Sydney. The inter-sessional intensive will provide a specific opportunity for students to engage with leading human rights experts and practitioners and take their conceptual studies in the first semester into a more practice-focussed dialogue.

Semester 2

The second semester is conducted at the four regional partner universities and students will be asked to nominate preferences for their course of study. Once allocated, all students follow two core compulsory units:

  • HRTD6907 - Human Rights Norms and Mechanisms II
  • HRTD6908 - Critical and Emerging Regional Issues

In addition to the two core compulsory units, students will choose one of the two following options:

  • HRTD6909 - Human Rights and Democratisation Dissertation Part 1 &
  • HRTD6911 - Human Rights and Democratisation Dissertation Part 2


  • HRTD6910 - Human Rights and Democratisation Internship Part 1 &
  • HRTD6912 - Human Rights and Democratisation Internship Part 2

Human Rights and Democratisation Second Semester Electives