Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel Instagram

Accounting Foundation

About the Foundation

On August 2, 1982 the University of Sydney Senate approved the Constitution of the Accounting Foundation within the University of Sydney on the recommendation of an inaugural meeting held on 26 July, 1982.

Amendments to the Constitution were subsequently approved in May 1997 and June 1994. The Senate adopted new rules with effect from 1 May 2007, largely incorporating the original Constitution.

The objectives of the Foundation are to:

  • Promote excellence in the fields of accounting and financial arrangement and in particular to: work in close co-operation with industry, commerce and the accounting profession, bringing together the co-ordinated skills of the various branches of the accounting and financial management disciplines;
  • assist in bringing to the Foundation as "Visiting Fellows" stimulating persons of outstanding achievement in order that they may influence practice and research in accounting and financial management in Australia;
  • arrange a series of lectures to be known as the "R.J. Chambers Memorial Research Lectures in Accounting;
  • provide an organisation and a mechanism to assist accountants from the University to work in practice and vice versa, to enable a widening of experience and skills by both parties and to assist, where appropriate, accountants from Australia to study a particular problem abroad;
  • provide scholarships to be known as the "R.J. Chambers Research Scholarships";
  • foster interdisciplinary collaboration with cognate disciplines in the Faculty of Economics and Business;
  • promote and foster relationships with alumni of the Faculty of Economics and Business;
  • promote and foster relationships with external organisations and regulatory authorities which have an interest in accounting and financial management;
  • contribute to public discussion and debate on matters of public policy in the field of accounting and financial management;
  • publish works of present and past members of the Discipline of Accounting;
  • sponsor research, publications and activities in the Discipline of Accounting.

Charter and Governance

The Foundation is governed by a Council comprising of leaders from the business community and senior University academics.


Council members as at December 31 2017

Mr Paul Brunner


Mr Paul Bull


Professor Stewart Jones

Editor in chief, Abacus

Mr Martin McGrath


Ms Renay Robinson


A/Prof Maria Cadiz Dyball

Academic Director, Discipline of Accounting

Professor Gregory Whitwell

Dean, Business School

Ms Melissa Bonevska

Development Manager, University Foundations, Representative of the DVC