International Workshop on Mechanics of Energy Materials

14-15 November 2016, The University of Sydney, Australia

The University of Sydney


Global energy consumption is continuously rising and is predominantly reliant on diminishing fossil-fuel resources. The mechanics of energy materials is crucial in providing efficient and reliable means to convert, store and transport sustainably produced energy.
The workshop aims to provide a platform to disseminate and promote state-of-art research, facilitate scientific discussion, and establish collaboration, in the field of mechanics of energy materials. The workshop focuses on the mechanics problems encountered in (but not limited to):

  • Batteries
  • Energy harvesting
  • Fuel cells
  • Geothermal energy
  • Nuclear materials
  • Photovoltaic cells
  • Thermal energy storage (including phase change materials)
  • Thermoelectric materials

Please submit your extended abstract (1-2 pages) to the by 15 September, 2016.

Dates and Venue

  • 14-15 November 2016
    Darlington Centre, The University of Sydney, NSW 2006, Australia.


  • Dr. Ratna Annabattula, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (India): TBA
  • Mr. Oleg Birkholz, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany): Modeling electrode structures of lithium-ion batteries using the Discrete-Element-Method
  • Dr. Laurence Brassart, Monash University (Australia): Modelling chemo-mechanical couplings in high-capacity electrodes for Li-ion batteries.
  • Prof. Changqing Chen, Tsinghua University (China): Evaporation limited capillary penetration in porous media.
  • Dr. Lei Chen, Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (China): Study on Pebble Bed Modeling and Characteristics for Water Cooled Ceramic Breeder blanket for CFETR.
  • Mr. Raghuram Karthik Desu, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (India): Modelling granular systems using discrete element method with elastoplastic contact model.
  • Mr. Mohammed Faizal, Monash University (Australia): An insight into the thermal response of a field scale energy pile and thermally induced soil moisture migration.
  • Prof. Marc Kamlah, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany): TBA
  • Prof. Chengwang Lei, The University of Sydney (Australia): TBA
  • Prof. Xiaozhou Liao, The University of Sydney (Australia): TBA
  • Dr. Jon van Lew, UCLA (USA): Tritium Generation in Fusion Reactors: Microscale Numerical Modeling of Thermomechanics of Lithium Ceramic Pebble Beds.
  • Dr. Reiner Moenig, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany): Mechanical Measurements on Electrode Materials for Lithium-Ion Batteries.
  • Dr Gwenealle Proust, The University of Sydney (Australia): TBA
  • Prof. Jie Wang, Zhejiang University (China): Tuning the band gap and polarization in BaSnO3/SrSnO3superlattices for photovoltaic applications.
  • Mr. Tanju Yildirim, University of Wollongong (Australia): Parametric amplification methods for broadband vibration based energy harvesting.
  • Prof. Dayu Zhou, Dalian University of Technology (China): Silicon-doped hafnium oxide antiferroelectric thin film: A promising dielectric candidate for ultracompact energy storage capacitors.

Registration Fee

The registration fee covers the coffees, morning and afternoon tea, and lunch during the workshop, as well as the workshop dinner at 14 November 2016. A book of extended abstracts will also be provided to all registered participants.


Early (Before 1 Oct 2016)

Regular (From 2 Oct 2016)







Accompanying Person



Please follow the link to the online registration.

Important Dates

  • Submission Deadline for Abstracts (1 page): 15 September, 2016
  • Acceptance of the contributions: 22 September 2016
  • Registration Open: 22 September 2016
  • Early-bird Registration ends: 1 October, 2016


Please click here to download the program and book of abstracts.

Best Student Presentation Award

In order to encourage research students participation, an award for best presentation by a student will be attributed at the end of the workshop. The award will include a certificate and a small prize to be determined according to the final budget.

Recommended Accommodation

Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale. Special room rates are available for the workshop participants, subjected to availability; please contact the in advance.


  • Dr Yixiang Gan (The University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Dr Ratna Kumar Annabattula (Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India)
  • Dr Gwenaelle Proust (The University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Dr Laurence Brassart (Monash University, Australia)