Visiting Fellows

Call For Visiting Fellowship Applicaitons 2014/15

The Sydney Centre for the Foundations of Science invites applications for one-semester visiting fellowships at The University of Sydney, for either second semester (August to November) 2014 or first semester (February to May) 2015.

We welcome applications from all disciplines within the history, philosophy and sociology of science and medicine, at any stage of their career, but we will only consider applicants who have a position extending beyond the term of the intended stay in Sydney. Up to four fellowships are available, and each fellowship will come with a travelling allowance of up to AUD 2,000 per month (to be paid against expenses).

The fellowships are intended to provide opportunity for collaboration with the permanent and visiting fellows of the SCFS and participate in the HPS research activities throughout the University of Sydney. For the research interests of the SCFS members and their current projects please consult the Research Projects page

Visiting fellows are normally expected to be in residence for 3 months and their visits should coincide with one of the University of Sydney teaching semesters.

Fellowships cannot be used to support candidates without current employment, so we will only consider applicants who have a position at another institution and extending beyond the term of their intended stay in Sydney.

Applications should including a cover letter, a CV, an indication of who the applicants intends to collaborate with and on what research, and what the applicant’s contribution to that research will be. Applications should be sent electronically to:

Adrian Baiada
Administrative Officer
Sydney Centre for the Foundations of Science
School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
A14, Main Quadrangle
University of Sydney
Sydney, NSW, 2006

By 15th November 2013. Applicants will be informed of decisions by 20th December 2013

Current Visiting Fellow

Raymond Lal, University of Oxford

Dr Lal collaborated Dr Eric Cavalcanti on firstly on the belief that the property of retrocausality for hidden variable models can be extended further, and can be exploited to provide interesting nonlocal models of quantum theory (which are still nonsignalling). This is also related to the work by Honorary SCFS Professor Huw Price on his retrocausal toy model (the `Helsinki' model), since their framework incorporates his model.

Secondly, the collaboration built on recent work that uses chained Bell inequalities to derive interesting no-go results, such as the recent work by Renner and Colbeck that shows that the predictive power of quantum theory cannot be `improved upon'. They believe that this result contains many subtleties that have not been appreciated by the foundations community. In fact, they believe that this result might be characterised in an interesting new way, which would show that ontological models for quantum theory (i.e. hidden variable models) cannot be both nonlocal and parameter- independent. This would use a new definition of ontological model, but would otherwise be a type of strengthening of Bell's theorem.

Past Visiting Fellows

  • Ted McCormick, Concordia University
  • Patrick Forber, Tufts University
  • Mark Olson, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Emanuele Serrelli, University of Milano-Bicocca, Milano
  • Arnon Levy, Van Leer Institute
  • Steven Orzack, Fresh Pond Institute
  • Juha Saatsi, University of Leeds
  • Albrecht Heefer, Universiteit Ghent
  • Matthew Slater, Bucknell University
  • Maria Kronfeldner, Universität Bielefeld
  • Peter Menzies, Macquarie University
  • Darrell Rowbottom, University of Oxford
  • Brian L. Keeley, Pitzer College
  • Ken Wharton, San Jose State University
  • Arif Ahmed, Cambridge University
  • Daniel Quesada, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Elliott Sober, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Richard Healey, University of Arizona
  • Friedel Weinert, University of Bradford
  • Lenny Moss, University of Exeter
  • Gianluigi Oliveri, Università di Palermo
  • Jeremy Butterfield, University of Cambridge
  • Christopher Eliot, Hofstra University, New York
  • Roman Frigg, London School of Economics
  • Anjan Chakravartty, University of Toronto
  • Larry Shapiro, University of Wisconsin
  • Mariam Thalos, University of Utah
  • Sven Dupre, University of Ghent
  • Helen Regan, University of California, Riverside
  • Roy Sorensen, Dartmouth College
  • JC Beall, University of Connecticut, University of St Andrews
  • Peter Godfrey-Smith, Harvard University
  • Alexander Paseau, Oxford University