Australian public holidays

If your elective commences on a public holiday, your first day will be the following Tuesday. This will not be counted as an absence.

Generally you will not be expected to attend on public holidays during your elective but this is the decision of your supervisor so a day off is not guaranteed.

  2012 2013
New Year's Day Sunday, 1 January Tuesday, 1 January
Australia Day Thursday, 26 January Monday, 28 January
Good Friday Friday, 6 April Friday, 29 March
Easter Saturday Saturday, 7 April Saturday, 30 March
Easter Monday Monday, 9 April Monday, 1 April
ANZAC Day Wednesday, 25 April Thursday, 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday, 11 June *Monday, 10 June
**Bank Holiday Monday, 6 August Monday, 5 August
Labour Day Monday, 1 October Monday, 7 October
Christmas Day Tuesday, 25 December Wednesday, 25 December
Boxing Day Wednesday, 26 December Thursday, 26 December

* Yet to be proclaimed