Staff list

Associate Dean

Professor David Harris

Professor David Harris

David Harris is Associate Dean of the Westmead Clinical School at Westmead Hospital. He is Director of Nephrology and Dialysis in the Western Sydney Renal Service. Previous executive positions include President of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology, Chairman of the Medical and Scientific Advisory Committee, Director of Kidney Health Australia and Editor-in-Chief of the journal Nephrology. Currently he is Chair of the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) Publications Committee and Education Committee, Chair of the Advisory Committee of the Australasian Kidney Trials Network, a President of the Asian Pacific Society of Nephrology and Chair of the Fellowship Program of the International Society of Nephrology.

David's laboratory research interests are focused on interstitial inflammation and novel treatments for progressive chronic renal disease, and his clinical research interests are in dialysis and progressive chronic renal failure. He has published more than 250 articles, mainly in the areas of his research interests.

David has been interested in teaching at all levels throughout his medical career, and in particular enjoys tackling the exciting challenges of medical student teaching at Westmead.

Despite his advancing years he is still passionate about a number of potentially unhealthy extracurricular activities like skiing and off-road marathons.

Executive Assistant to the Associate Dean

Karen Robertson

Executive Officer

Amanda Burke

Senior Lecturer, Medical Education

Dr Amanda Harrison

Amanda has been working as Senior Lecturer in Medical Education. Her main emphasis is student and tutor support, remediation and evaluation.

Clinical Skills Educator

Clinical Skills Co-ordinator, Stage 2 Co-ordinator

Jerome Fernandez

Contact the Clinical Skills Co-ordinator, Stage 2 Co-ordinator

Education Support Officer - Stage 3 & PrInt Co-ordinator

Izam Mujir

Contact the Education Support Officer, Stage 3 & PrInt

Education Support Officer - Stage 3 & Electives Officer

Angela Wallace

Education Support Officer, Stage 1

Margaret Fernandes

Margaret joined the Clinical School in 2008, and is responsible for the Stage 1 students.

Margaret previously worked at Westmead Hospital in medical administration and also at the University of New South Wales and the University of Auckland.

Sub Dean, Surgery

Dr Mauro Vicaretti

Dr Mauro Vicaretti

Mauro is a vascular surgeon dealing with all aspects of vascular surgery and medicine. Special interests are in endovascular therapies for occlusive and aneurysmal arterial disease, the diabetic foot, and infections in vascular surgery.

He is involved in vascular education at all levels especially to post-graduate medical students. Mauro is presently involved in research in the genesis of atherosclerosis.

Contact the Sub Dean

Sub Dean, Medicine

Dr Vincent Lee

Postgraduate Co-ordinator

A/Prof Steve Vucic

Deptuy Postgraduate Co-ordinator

Dr Justine Gatt

Deputy Postgraduate Co-ordinator

Dr Eddy Kizana

Postgraduate Unit Student Officer

Naomi Muir

Naomi joined the Postgraduate Unit - WCS in January 2002, and provides support to the Postgraduate Coordinator, Professor Jacob George of the Westmead Clinical School.

She is responsible for postgraduate student enquiries and coordinating postgraduate related matters such as interviews, courses and seminars.

Contact the Postgraduate Unit Student Officer

Administrative Assistant

Lynne Gallaty

Finance Manager

Sam Saha

Contact the Finance Manager

Finance Officer

Anu Srinath

Contact the Finance Officer