Galleries and events

SCA Galleries play an important role in the life of Sydney College of the Arts as a resource and educational device for students and staff. By providing the community with access to a range of challenging and innovative exhibitions and events, the galleries also provide an opportunity for SCA to develop a public understanding and appreciation of contemporary art.

Register for Our Newsletter


2017 PROGRAMME

FEBRUARY

Image: Robin Hungerford, Same As It Ever Was (Educational Prop), 2016, Fibreglass, Acrylic Paint.

Nice One Picasso

Laneway Festival
Saturday 4 February (ticketed event)

Opening:
Wednesday 8 February, 6-8pm
Exhibition:
Thursday 9 February – Saturday 11 February, 11am-5pm

More »


Curated by Liam Garstang, Nice One Picasso is a contemporary art project for the Sydney leg of the 2017 St. Jerome's Laneway Festival. Held throughout Callan Park, Rozelle, and in the Laneway Pretty Important People (PIP) bar, the two exhibitions showcase the work of current students and graduates of Sydney College of the Arts (Laneway's Sydney venue). 

Following on from the Festival an adapted exhibition incorporating all work created for the project will be exhibited in the SCA Galleries, with performances on opening night.

Artists include: Vicky Browne, Consuelo Cavaniglia, Eugene Choi, Adrian De Giorgio, Chris Dolman, Chris Fox, Liam Garstang, Francesca Heinz, Hana Hoogedeure and Luke O'Donnell, Robin Hungerford, Harley Ives, Biljana Jancic, Richard Kean, Clare Milledge, Jonny Niesche, Kate Scardifield, Ben Terakes, Kai Wasikowski, and Justene Williams.

Image: Robin Hungerford, Same As It Ever Was (Educational Prop), 2016, Fibreglass, Acrylic Paint.


Image: Chris Dolman, Death Wobbles: an Anxious Tableau, Installation view, 2016. Photo: Ian Hobbs. December examination exhibition.

February HDR Examination Exhibition

Opening:
Thursday 23 February, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Friday 24 February, 11am-5pm and Saturday 25 February, 11am-4pm

More »


Please join us to celebrate the achievements of our postgraduate students completing degrees in February 2017. A special private viewing of their examination work will be hosted by Acting Dean, Professor Margaret Harris and Justin Trendall, Graduate School Director.

Exhibiting students include: Corrine Brittain (PhD), Vivienne Linsley (PhD), Rachel Scott (PhD), Cobi Cockburn (MFA), David Collins (MFA), Amy Dynan (MFA), Petrina Hicks (MFA), Del Lumanta (MFA), Nicola Morton (MFA), Zoe Roberston (MFA) and Xaiver Winterstein (MFA).

Image: Chris Dolman, Death Wobbles: an Anxious Tableau, Installation view, 2016. Photo: Ian Hobbs. December examination exhibition.


MARCH – APRIL

Image: Zhu Peihong, ‘My Space- Untitled 2016-4’, 2016.

Centripetal Force – Four Dimensions of Chinese Contemporary Artists

Opening:
Thursday 30 March, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Friday 31 March – Saturday 29 April

More »


SCA invites you to the 2017 Chinese Contemporary Art Month exhibition Centripetal Force - Four Dimensions of Chinese Contemporary Art, curated by Jerry Song.

Participating artists TBC.

Image: Zhu Peihong, ‘My Space- Untitled 2016-4’, 2016.


MAY – JUNE

New Contemporaries

Opening:
Wednesday 10 May, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Thursday 11 May – Saturday 3 June



June HDR Examination Exhibition

Opening:
Thursday 22 June, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Friday 23 June, 11am-5pm and Saturday 24 June, 11am–4pm



JULY

Dot, dot, dot

Curated by Janelle Evans

Opening:
Wednesday 5 July, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Thursday 6 July – Saturday 29 July



AUGUST – SEPTEMBER

David Harold Tribe Sculpture Award – National Award

Opening:
Wednesday 9 August, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Thursday 10 August – Saturday 9 September



September HDR Examination Exhibition

Opening:
Thursday 21 September, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Friday 22 September, 11am–5pm and Saturday 23 September, 11am– 4pm



OCTOBER

The Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Artists Travel Award Finalist Exhibition

Opening:
Wednesday 4 October, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Thursday 5 October – Saturday 28 October



NOVEMBER

SCA Undergraduate Degree Show

Opening:
Tuesday 21 November

Exhibition:
Wednesday 22 November – Tuesday 28 November



DECEMBER

December HDR Examination Exhibition

Opening:
Thursday 7 December, 6-8pm

Exhibition:
Friday 8 December, 11am–5pm and Saturday 9 December, 11am– 4pm