Skip to main content

Centre leadership

The Charles Perkins Centre leadership team

Our leadership comprises a team of pre-eminent researchers and scholars led by Professor Stephen Simpson. 

Academic Director

Professor Stephen Simpson

Stephen Simpson is leading the development of the Charles Perkins Centre's research and education strategies.

He is a world-renowned biologist whose research on nutrition is changing the way we look at diets.

Simpson’s academic journey to date criss-crosses the globe. Having completed his undergraduate degree at the University of Queensland, he then acquired a PhD from the University of London. After 22 years at Oxford, Stephen returned to Australia in 2005 as an Australian Research Council (ARC) Federation Fellow.

In 2007, Stephen was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and in 2008 was awarded the Eureka Prize for Scientific Research. In 2009, he was named NSW Scientist of the Year, and was later named the Wigglesworth Medallist by the Royal Entomological Society of London.

In 2013, he was elected Fellow of the Royal Society, and awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the Royal Entomological Society.

Director of Educational Development

Professor Marie Carroll

Marie Carroll was until 2015 Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs) at the University of Sydney, with responsibilities centring on curriculum, graduate studies and higher degrees by research strategy, and teaching and learning. She obtained her PhD in Cognitive Psychology from University of Otago in New Zealand. 

Since then she has worked in eight Australian universities, and held a variety of senior posts including: Foundation Head of Psychology, Chair of the Academic Board, and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at the University of Canberra, and Director of Quality Enhancement at the Australian National University. Her research career has focused on experimental psychology in memory and metamemory, applied in particular to formal learning settings, and she still supervises graduate students. 

She has recently taken a 0.5 appointment as Director of Educational Development at the Charles Perkins Centre. In this role she will oversee all interdisciplinary educational activities associated with the Centre, including HDR and Early Career support, award courses, non-award short courses, seminars and workshops, and engagement and outreach.

Chief Operating Officer

Michael Milne

As the Chief Operating Officer (COO) of the Charles Perkins Centre, Michael Milne leads the operation of the new research and education hub facility and the delivery of the Centre’s strategic objectives for cross-disciplinary research and education.

Michael brings more than a decade’s experience in senior executive roles within the sector, including his most recent role as COO of the University’s Brain and Mind Centre.

Ian Caterson - Academic director

Academic Clinical Director

Professor Ian Caterson

Professor Ian Caterson is currently:

  • Foundation Director of the Boden Institute of Obesity, Nutrition, Exercise & Eating Disorders
  • Boden Professor of Human Nutrition
  • Academic Clinical Director, Charles Perkins Centre Royal Prince Alfred Clinic
  • Deputy Clinical Stream Director, Aged Health, Chronic Care, Andrology and Disability, Ambulatory, General Medicine, Endocrinology and Rehabilitation for the Sydney Local Health District
  • President of the World Obesity Federation

Prior to that he was Senior Staff Specialist and Director of Clinical Endocrinology at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, where, in 1984, he established the first multi-disciplinary weight management service in Australia.

Ian is a recognised expert on obesity, its causes, prevention and management. His research interests also include insulin resistance, its causes, mechanisms and effects. Ian’s research teams at the Boden Institute were the first to run their clinical trials out of the Charles Perkins Centre when it opened in 2014.