Advanced Microscopy Facility Micrograph of the Year Competition

Micrographs of 2009

Thanks to all that entered the Bosch Institute AMF Micrograph of the Year Competition in 2009 (and to those supervisors who encouraged their students!). It was another great year. The Top 20 images were on display in the Anderson Stuart Common Room and the Top 5 winners were announced at the end of the Bosch Young Investigators Symposium 2009. Thanks again to the two judges, Assoc Prof. Cedric Shorey (Anatomy & Histology) and Jenny Whiting (EMU), for doing such a fine but difficult job in selecting the winners. I would like to say a special thanks to all the sponsors, since this Competition would have not been possible without their very kind donation of the prizes! Special thanks to Carl Zeiss, Olympus Australia, Nikon/Coherent Scientific, Leica Microsystems and the Bosch Institute.

Top 20 Micrographs 2009

Bosch Institute Advanced Microscopy Facility Top 20 Micrographs 2009
Images taken by Bosch members and AMF users (left to right):
Top row: Jin Huang, Michael Lovelace, Lisa Nivison-Smith, Jenny Brockhausen, Andrew Affleck
Second row: Luis Munoz-Erazo, Komal Prabhu, Emily Don, Connie Poon, Francine Marquez
Third row: Hussein Mansour, Lisa Nivison-Smith, Hussein Mansour, Sivaraman Purushothuman, De Lian Goh
Bottom row: Ineka Whiteman, Sivaraman Purushothuman, Emily Don, Jenny Brockhausen, Nazanin Ghazanfari

Top 5 Micrographs 2009

Congratulations to the Top 5 2009 winners shown here from left to right:

First prize: Connie Poon (Anatomy & Histology, Bosch Institute)
3D projected image of a rat blastocyst in the process of hatching from its external zona pellucida (patchy outer coat surrounding the cellular mass of the blastocyst). Image taken using Zeiss LSM 510 Meta confocal microscope. Blue staining shows cell nuclei of the trophoblast cells comprising the blastocyst and green staining shows the localisation of Mucin 15 protein. This hatching process is necessary to allow the blastocyst to adhere and interact with the epithelial cells of the uterus to allow for implantation and subsequent pregnancy to occur.
Second prize: Hussein Mansour (Anatomy & Histology, Bosch Institute)
Immunohistochemistry of retinal whole mounts shows α-smooth muscle actin (SMA) labelling of inter-laminar fibrous layer (red), NG2-labelling of pericyte cells (blue) and nestin-labelled intermediate filamentous protein at leading edge and branch points (green). This image demonstrates the multi-cytoarchitectural composition of small capillaries that ensures vessel growth and stability of newly formed and aging blood vessels.
Third prize: Emily Don (Anatomy & Histology, Bosch Institute)
Confocal image showing the ventral view of a juvenile Zebrafish (Danio rerio). Anterior is to the top of the image. The newly formed pelvic fins can be seen just anterior to the cloaca, either side of the retreating larval fin fold.
Fourth prize: Andrew Affleck (Physiology, Bosch Institute)
Maximum intensity projection of a 3D orthogonal image of chicken basilar papilla hair cells stained with anti-CtBP2 (C-terminal binding protein) (green) for labeling of ribbon synapse and anti-GluR 2/3 (Glutamate receptor) (red) for labeling glutamate receptor types 2 and 3 inherent in the afferent nerve terminals on the post-synaptic surface. The latter receptor unspecifically aggregated to supporting structures most notably the hair bundle on the apical border to the hair cell. Image taken on Zeiss LSM 510 Meta confocal microscope.
Fifth prize: Sivaraman Purushothuman (Physiology, Bosch Institute)
Structure of cell death: In the brain of a transgenic mouse, haemorrhage has caused cell death and cellular debris is compacted by activated macrophages. The compacting is non-random; an autofluorescent core of yellow-green material is surrounded by a halo of fragmented nuclear DNA (blue), with an outer halo of cytoskeletal fragments of dead astrocytes (red). Image taken with deconvolution microscope.