2010 teaching citation awards announced

8 July 2010

Dr Tara Murphy and Dr James Curran both received ALTC citations.
Dr Tara Murphy and Dr James Curran both received ALTC citations.

Five University of Sydney academics will shortly receive citations from the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) for their significant contributions to student learning.

The ALTC Citations for Outstanding Contributions will be presented to 170 individuals and 23 teams at six ceremonies around the country from late July onwards.

The citations, valued at $10,000 each, are being awarded to both academic and professional staff who have demonstrated sustained dedication to improving the quality of the student learning experience.

This year, citations will be awarded in areas ranging from the first year experience, to advances in online and multimedia teaching and capacity building for marginalised learners.

The University of Sydney citations are:

Dr Peter Gibbens for the development of an internationally-recognised simulation based experiential learning system for Flight Mechanics that has produced significant improvements in student learning and enthusiasm.

Ms Patty Kamvounias for sustained commitment to enhancing student learning in business law through an integrated approach to assessment and feedback

Dr Sabine Ludewig for sustained commitment to enhance the learning experience of undergraduate students by creating an intellectually challenging learning culture that fosters motivation, inclusion and intellectual autonomy

Dr Tara Murphy and Dr James R Curran for their outstanding commitment to first year IT teaching, including the development of an innovative online learning system to enhance the student experience.

For more information, visit the ALTC website.

Media enquiries: Rachel Gleeson, 0403 067 342, 9351 4312,