DesignCheck wins Australian Institute of Building award

19 July 2006

DesignCheck has won the research and development category at the Australian Institute of Building (AIB) 2006 New South Wales Professional Excellence in Building Awards.Project team leader, Dr Lan Ding, from CSIRO, accepted the award on behalf of the whole Construction Innovation team in Sydney on Friday, 7 July."Winning this award is a great honour for me personally and the entire team," said Dr Ding.The DesignCheck team are: Fanny Boulaire (CSIRO), Wei Peng (USyd), Nicholas Preema (USyd), Dr Mike Rosenman (USyd) and Ji Soo Yoon (USyd), Robin Drogemuller (CSIRO), Moshe Gilovitz (Building Commission), Prof. John Gero (USyd), Dr Julie Jupp (USyd), David Marchant (Woods Bagot), Dr John Mashford (CSIRO), Kevin McDonald (CSIRO), Cheryl McNamara (CSIRO), Lah Nemprempree (Woods Bagot).DesignCheck is a 3D CAD compatible software tool that reduces errors/rework and increases productivity by providing building designers and surveyors with an automated, quick and simple check against building codes.As the NSW Chapter winner, DesignCheck will join Project Diagnostics (Qld Chapter winner) in competing for the national AIB award to be announced during its Construct 2006 conference on the Gold Coast from 28 to 30 September.