Strong showing for Sydney students at industry awards

4 June 2010

Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning students were very successful at the 2010 NSW Chapter Student Awards. The ceremony was held at the Tusculum building to a full house of professionals, academics and students.

The annual awards which are presented by the Australian Institute of Architects showcased the excellence of our students and our teaching. NSW President, Brian Zulaikha stated "The judges' task was exceptionally hard this year because of the high quality of the competition entries."

He had specific praise for Sydney University students visual presentation skills. He remarked, "(t)hey are so important in determining the project ideas that make the transition from concept to client acceptance and realization. Their abilities in this area will undoubtedly assist them to achieve success in their professional lives."

There were a number of successes on the night. Mathew Oh and Casey Bryant won the AIA Partridge Partners Prize for Structure in Architecture for their 'Pleated Bodyscapes (Western Australian Mining Community)' project. This prize is for raising the awareness of structure in building design and to foster closer engineer/architect collaborations.

Commendations were awarded to Carly Martin for the Mirvac Design Award for her Blackwattle Bay Fire Station project and to Alex Dircks for the Design Medal for his Alluvial Necropolis project. The Mirvac award is for a design project carried out in a student's third year of study while the Design Medal is awarded to a design project carried out in the final year of the Master of Architecture program.

Other prize winners included:
Dinah Dai Zhang (BVN Prize)
Carly Martin (Chapter Prize)
Natalie Minasian (History and Theory Award)
Jocelyn Green (Construction and Practice Award)

The Faculty would like to congratulate all the winners and their academic mentors.

Contact: Jonathan Hulme

Phone: 02 9351 2686

Email: 0d330c195b18532117274a3c320623265c29124c331d054d2404