Faculty Awards

9 April 2009

The Dean of Engineering and IT, Professor Greg Hancock, has announced winners of the 2008 Faculty Teaching and Research Awards:

Deans Award for Teaching
Dr Peter Gibbens, School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering, has been awarded the 2008 Deans Award for Teaching for his work in the development of the SAMME Variable Stability Flight Simulator. Peter has very clearly articulated his Learning and Teaching Philosophy, Evidence of Impact on Student Learning Outcomes and Alignement with the Engineering and IT Strategic Plan.

School Awards for Teaching
Dr Tim Wilkinson, Civil Engineering
Dr Dylan Lu, Electrical and Information Engineering
Associate Professor Vincent Gomes, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Dean's Ward for Research

Dr Hala Zreiqat has been awarded the 2008 Deans Award for Research for her work on Tissue Engineering. Professor Assaad Masri, who jointly judged the award with myself stated:

"Hala Zreiqat is an outstanding researcher who is making quite an impact in the field of Bone Tissues. She qualifies for the Dean's Award for Research on all four stated criteria. Her work is quite innovative and her novel scaffold design is patented. Her work is making an impact on the biomed industry which is now prepared to sponsor it. This recognition is national and international."

Congratulations to all on these awards for outstanding work