For journalists

Media Office

The Media Office is the key contact point for journalists and handles media requests for information about the University and its activities, as well as requests for comment from academics and researchers.

The Vice-Chancellor's office handles requests for comment from the Vice-Chancellor Dr Michael Spence, as well as media requests relating to University-wide issues, policy issues, and issues involving senior staff.

All requests to film or record for television should be directed to the Media Office.

Media Office contacts

Media Office media queries
Phone: + 61 2 9351 2261

Media office out-of-hours number
Mobile: 0434 609 790

Ben Wilson
Acting Head of Media and Communications
Phone: +61 2 9114 0748
Mobile: 0402 128 073
e-mail: ben.wilson@sydney.edu.au

Verity Leatherdale
Media Adviser (Arts and Social Sciences, Law, Education and Social Work, Sydney Ideas)
Phone: +61 2 9351 4312
Mobile: 0419 278 715
e-mail: Verity.Leatherdale@sydney.edu.au

Jocelyn Prasad (Mon-Tuesday)
Media Adviser (Museums, engineering, security, transport studies)
Phone: +61 2 9114 1382
e-mail: jocelyn.prasad@sydney.edu.au

Jacqueline Chowns (Tuesday-Thursday)
Media Adviser (Health Sciences, Business, Architecture, Sydney College of the Arts)
Phone: +61 2 9036 5404
Mobile: 0434 605 018
Fax: +61 2 9351 3737
e-mail: jacqueline.chowns@sydney.edu.au

Kath Kenny (Monday, Wednesday, Thursday)
Media Adviser (Medicine, Science, Agriculture, Veterinary Science, Medical Institutes)
Phone: + 61 2 9351 1584
Mobile: 0478 303 173
e-mail: kath.kenny@sydney.edu.au

Victoria Hollick (Tuesday and Friday)
Media Adviser (Medicine, Science, Agriculture, Nursing, Pharmacy, Dentistry)
Phone: + 61 2 9351 2579
Mobile: 0401 711 361
e-mail: victoria.hollick@sydney.edu.au

Katie Szittner
Assistant Media Adviser
Phone: + 61 2 9351 2261
Mobile: 0478 316 809
e-mail: katie.szittner@sydney.edu.au

Vice-Chancellor's Office contact

Andrew Potter
Director, Corporate Media Relations, Office of the Vice-Chancellor
Handles media requests relating to the Vice-Chancellor, University-wide policy and corporate affairs.
Phone: +61 2 9351 4138
Mobile: 0414 998 521
e-mail: andrew.potter@sydney.edu.au