Sydney Research Networks (SyReNS)

SyReNS provides funding and other support for themed research groups or networks spanning multiple faculties over a two year period.

The scheme capitalises on Sydney's unique disciplinary profile to evolve large and productive collaborations, enabling high quality multidisciplinary research on significant and complex problems.

Sydney Neuroscience Network

The SNN is university-wide network to foster and coordinate new multidisciplinary synergies in the basic and clinical neurosciences. It seeks to expand on planned and implemented programs with a similar focus current accumulation in neuroscience at Sydney via a virtual platform.

By developing this network, making resources and research opportunities more visible, improving the integration of expertise and knowledge and providing the basis for training and increased multidisciplinary research activity and collaboration, the SNN hopes to address fragmentation in neuroscience. SNN will work both to make researchers part of an integrated neurosciences community at Sydney and to provide them with true avenues for collaboration.

Key Researchers: Nathan Absalom, David Braddon-Mitchell, Sascha Callaghan, Sanjay Chawla, Macdonald Christie, Mary Collins, Stewart Einfeld, Stuart Grieve, Paul Haber, Jane Hanrahan, Anthony Harris, Ian Hickie, Michael Kassiou, Jillian Kril, Steven Miekle, Richard Morris, Fabio Ramos, Ye Rong, and Carolyn Sue

Associate Researchers: Laura Corbit, Adam Guastella, Daniel Hermens, Ian Johnston, Sharon Naismith, Renae Ryan, and Cameron Stewart

Network for Bodies, Organs and Tissues (NBOT)

NBOT is a team of scholars from a diverse range of disciplines including; medicine, law, science, sociology, bioethics, criminology, public health, history, politics, anthropology, archaeology, philosophy and gender studies, with a proven track record for critical and transformative research in large-scale, multi-disciplinary initiatives.

NBOT has been deliberately structured with a preponderance of ECRs, supported by significant world-leading researchers, to maximise the research potential and the environment for research training in bodies, organs and tissues. Last year NBOT was given $40,000 seed funding which allowed them to launch a public website which contains a complete dataset of world-wide organ donation statistics.

Key researchers: Warwick Anderson, Peter Cashman, Melinda Cooper, Paul Griffiths, Claire Hooker, Chris Jordens, Ian Kerridge, Deborah Lupton, Roger Magnusson, Mike Michael, Hans Pols, Kane Race, Glenn Salkeld, Kristin Savell, Rebecca Scott Bray, Louise Shewan, and Catherine Waldby.

Associate researchers: Celeste Black, Salim Farrar, Paul Komesaroff, Wendy Lipworth, Catherine Mills, Megan Munsie, Robert Sparrow, Steve Wainwright, and Clare Williams.

Sydney Intellectual History Network

The Sydney Intellectual History Network (SIHN) draws together scholars to think through the problem of communicating significant conceptual innovation in the modern world, situating our research along a trajectory of intellectual history reconfigured as a dynamic multidisciplinary exploration of generative thought.

Key researchers: Tony Aspromourgos, Francesco Borghesi, Barbara Caine, Jennifer Ferng, Andrew Fitzmaurice, Ofer Gal, Stephen Gaukroger, Daniela Katharina Helbig, Vrasidas Karalis, Ian Kerridge, David Macarthur, Dalia Nassar, Paul Redding, Wojciech Sadurski, Michael Sevel, Glenda Sluga, Matthew Smith, Anik Waldow, and Kevin Walton.

Assistive Technologies for Virtual Rehabilitation Engineering (ATVRE)

ATVRE aims to merge smart engineering and rehabilitation technologies to enable individuals with disabilities to perform functions that might otherwise be difficult or impossible. It brings a cross-disciplinary team of University of Sydney's outstanding key Researchers from multiple Faculties, together with a large network of distinguished external associate investigators.

Key researchers: Graham Brooker, Tom Buckley, Tom Cai, Glen Davis, Fariba Dehghani, Colin Dunstan, Che Fornusek, Michael Fulham, Craig Jin, Mohamed Khadra, Jinman Kim, Qing Li, Alistair Mcewan, Armin Mohamed, Gregory Murray, Christopher Peck, Andrew Ruys, Branka Vucetic, and Anthony Weiss.

Associate researchers: Hak-Kim Chan, Kewei Chen, Doan Hoang, Gang Huang, Philip Leong, Nigel Lovell, Chris Sorrell, Nadia Thalmann, John Whitelock, and Paul Young.

Space SyReNS

Space SyReNS will link and extend the University's multi-disciplinary, School and Faculty capabilities into the nation's premier university space research program, playing a leadership role in national and international efforts. Space will stimulate and strengthen research, positioning the University to lead a future national research network focused on Space and related scientific, engineering, agriculture, environmental, food security and economic issues.

Key researchers: Dietmar Muller, Joss Bland-Hawthorn, John Crawford, Manfred Lenzen, Inakwu Odeh, David Ivers, Xiaofeng Wu, Salah Sukkarieh, Joe Khachan, Patrice Rey, Ana Vila-Concejo, Eleanor Bruce, Richard Murphy, and Sergio Leon-Saval.

PhysicaL Activity NETwork Sydney University (PLANET)

The Physical Activity Network (PLANET) collaboration will build on existing and nascent partnerships, whilst develop new ones. PLANET focuses on and address themes such: as new technologies; sedentary behaviour; active transport; disease and disability; and community and prevention.

Key researchers: Judy Kay, Cathie Sherrington, Chris Rissel, Stephen Greaves, Corinne Mulley, Timothy Gill, Glen Davis, Kathy Refshauge, Maria Fiatarone Singh, Louise Hardy, Louise Baur, Margaret Allman-Farinelli, Lindy Clemson, Roger Magnusson, Sharon Kilbreath, Lis Neubeck, Haryana Dhillon, Josephine Chau, and Nathan Johnson.

Associate researchers: Dafna Merom, Roger Stancliffe, Martin Mackey, Debra Shirley, Anita Bundy, Lina Engelen, Janette Vardy, Hidde van der Ploeg, Bill Bellew, and Paul McGreevy.