Skip to main content
University_

Ally Network

Supporting our LGBTIQ community

We established an Ally Network to support the inclusion of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) members of our community, and show our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive environment.

Our aim is for all members of our community to feel supported and free to contribute their best, regardless of gender or sexual orientation. Our network will:

  • help to create a welcoming, safe and supportive environment for everyone who identifies as LGBTIQ
  • promote cultural change and support our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive community by raising LGBTIQ awareness
  • challenge homophobia and homophobic attitudes and behaviours
  • give LGBTIQ staff and students a voice by providing a channel to raise concerns and issues to the University leadership
  • celebrate important LGBTIQ calendar events throughout the year.

Ally Network Achievements

Since the launch of the Ally Network in March 2014, the Ally Network has made a number of significant achievements which include:

  • The participation of the University’s first ever entry to the 2016 Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras Parade, also taking away the award for best choreography out of 194 floats
  • The celebration of International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia
  • Commemoration and acknowledgment of Transgender Day of Remembrance and World Aids Day
  • The roll-out of preferred name recognition is now been rolled out across the University for Transgender Students who will now have their preferred name consistent across all university student systems including: class rolls, coversheets for assignments, mark management systems and early-warning emails
  • The University will represent for the first time ever at Fair Day 2017 and will again participate in the 2017 Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras
  • A working group with the Ally Network is reviewing the inclusion of LGBTIQ in the curriculum with the aim to increase and promote LGBTIQ issues and awareness across different faculties and discipline.

Are you passionate about LGBTIQ rights?

The University’s Ally Network is currently seeking staff and student representatives for its Steering Committee. The Steering Committee guides the agenda of the Ally Network which seeks to promote cultural change and create a more inclusive community. The steering committee contributes to projects, policy review and events on the LGBTIQ calendar, including Mardi Gras.

The committee meets twice per semester for one hour. If you are keen to get involved and contribute to the work of the Ally Network, or you'd just like more information, email Louise Bannerman or phone +61 2 9036 4758.


Our allies

An ally is anyone, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity, who supports LGBTIQ inclusion. The role of an ally is to be aware of the challenges faced by LGBTIQ people and to make a difference in whatever way they feel comfortable. This can include being a point of contact or standing against inequality or exclusion. An ally is also an agent of change who challenges homophobia and heterosexism.

Allies have completed professional development training to allow them to act as an effective supporter, role model and advocate. As part of our network, we partnered with Pride in Diversity, Australia's first and only not-for-profit workplace program designed specifically to assist with LGBTIQ inclusion.

In 2017 we will roll-out gender and sexually diverse training and ally training. If you are interested in becoming an ally and undertaking the training soon to be offered please contact ally.network@sydney.edu.au.

The role of an Ally

  • allies are staff and students
  • provide a safe and confidential environment for people to make enquiries regarding issues related to matters of sexual diversity and gender identity
  • show leadership through being publicly supportive of sexual diversity.
  • allies display a sticker at their workstation or office door and identifying themselves as Allies
  • increase respect and inclusion of LGBTIQ staff and students and role model non discriminatory practices and language
  • pro-actively combat, wherever possible, homophobia and heterosexism on campus
  • provide information and are able to appropriately refer.

Allies are not experts in LGBTIQ issues and may or may not be from the LGBTIQ community.

Ally Network Contacts

Huw Griffiths
Senior Lecturer, Department of English
huw.griffiths@sydney.edu.au
9351 2065

Annamarie Jagose
Professor & Head of School of Literature, Art and Media
annamarie.jagose@sydney.edu.au
9351 8034

Adam Kamradt-Scott
Associate Professor, Centre for International Security Studies
adam.kamradt-scott@sydney.edu.au
9351 8986

Kim Kemmis
Teaching Support Officer, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
kim.kemmis@sydney.edu.au

9351 4021

Olivia Murphy
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Englis
olivia.murphy@sydney.edu.au
9351 2130

Jennifer Peden
Teaching & Curriculum Coordinator, School of Economics
jennifer.peden@sydney.edu.au
9351 4399

Matthew Egan
Senior Lecturer, University of Sydney Business School
matthew.egan@sydney.edu.au
9036 9060

Benjamin Brent
Casual Teaching & Research Assistant, School of Information Technology
benjamin.brent@sydney.edu.au

Paul McInerney
Senior Systems Manager, School of Medical Sciences
paul@sydney.edu.au
9351 5159

Cassie Quilty
Student Support Programs, Sydney Nursing School
9351 0523

Reza Kahlaee
Research Fellow, Faculty of Pharmacy
9351 5097
reza.kahlaee@sydney.edu.au

Matthew Pye
Associate Lecturer, School of Life and Environmental Science
matthew.pye@sydney.edu.au
9114 0797

Pedro T. Teixeira
Research Manager, Charles Perkins Centre
9351 2438
pedro@sydney.edu.au

Donna Bridges
Executive Officer, Deputy VC Indigenous Strategy and Services
donna.bridges@sydney.edu.au
9351 6690

Terence Ryan
Administration Officer, Division of Alumni & Development
terence.ryan@sydney.edu.au
9351 1506

Katy Cuthbert
Deputy Director, International House
katy.cuthbert@sydney.edu.au
9950 9800

Hilde Driessen
Change Specialist, Office of Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
hilde.driessen@sydney.edu.au

Jane Radford
Laboratory Technical Services Manager, Campus Infrastructure and Services
jane.radford@sydney.edu.au
9351 7026

Note on terminology

At the University of Sydney, ‘LGBTIQ’ is used as an inclusive umbrella term that recognises the diversity and experiences of sexualities and genders. We acknowledge that this terminology is a source of ongoing community debate and may not reflect the preferred identification of individuals.