Skip to main content
University_

Ally Network

Supporting our LGBTIQ community

We established an Ally Network to support the inclusion of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) members of our community, and show our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive environment.

Our aim is for all members of our community to feel supported and free to contribute their best, regardless of gender or sexual orientation. Our network will:

  • help to create a welcoming and supportive environment for everyone who identifies as LGBTIQ
  • promote cultural change and support our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive community by raising LGBTIQ awareness
  • challenge homophobia and homophobic attitudes and behaviours
  • support all members of our community to feel safe to be who they are.

Our allies

An ally is anyone, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity, who supports LGBTIQ inclusion. The role of an ally is to be aware of the challenges faced by LGBTIQ people and to make a difference in whatever way they feel comfortable. This can include being a point of contact or standing against inequality or exclusion.

As part of our network, we've partnered with Pride in Diversity, Australia's first and only not-for-profit workplace program designed specifically to assist with LGBTIQ inclusion.

Note on terminology

At the University of Sydney, ‘LGBTIQ’ is used as an inclusive umbrella term that recognises the diversity and experiences of sexualities and genders. We acknowledge that this terminology is a source of ongoing community debate and may not reflect the preferred identification of individuals.

Ally Network Contacts

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Huw Griffiths
Senior Lecturer, Department of English
huw.griffiths@sydney.edu.au
9351 2065

Annamarie Jagose
Professor & Head of School of Literature, Art and Media
annamarie.jagose@sydney.edu.au
9351 8034

Adam Kamradt-Scott
Associate Professor, Centre for International Security Studies
adam.kamradt-scott@sydney.edu.au
9351 8986

Kim Kemmis
Teaching Support Officer, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
kim.kemmis@sydney.edu.au

9351 4021

Olivia Murphy
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Englis
olivia.murphy@sydney.edu.au
9351 2130

Jennifer Peden
Teaching & Curriculum Coordinator, School of Economics
jennifer.peden@sydney.edu.au
9351 4399

The University of Sydney Business School

Matthew Egan
Senior Lecturer, University of Sydney Business School
matthew.egan@sydney.edu.au
9036 9060

Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology

Benjamin Brent
Casual Teaching & Research Assistant, School of Information Technology
benjamin.brent@sydney.edu.au

The University of Sydney Medical School

Paul McInerney
Senior Systems Manager, School of Medical Sciences
paul@sydney.edu.au
9351 5159

Sydney Nursing School

Cassie Quilty
Student Support Programs, Sydney Nursing School
9351 0523

Faculty of Pharmacy

Reza Kahlaee
Research Fellow, Faculty of Pharmacy
9351 5097
reza.kahlaee@sydney.edu.au

Faculty of Science

Matthew Pye
Associate Lecturer, School of Life and Environmental Science
matthew.pye@sydney.edu.au
9114 0797

Charles Perkins Centre

Jane Radford
Laboratory Technical Services Manager, Charles Perkins Centre
jane.radford@sydney.edu.au
9351 7026

Pedro T. Teixeira
Research Manager, Charles Perkins Centre
9351 2438
pedro@sydney.edu.au

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Indigenous Strategy and Services

Donna Bridges
Executive Officer, Deputy VC Indigenous Strategy and Services
donna.bridges@sydney.edu.au
9351 6690

Division of Alumni and Development

Terence Ryan
Administration Officer, Division of Alumni & Development
terence.ryan@sydney.edu.au
9351 1506

International House

Katy Cuthbert
Deputy Director, International House
katy.cuthbert@sydney.edu.au
9950 9800

Office of the Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Hilde Driessen
Change Specialist, Office of Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
hilde.driessen@sydney.edu.au