About the conference

ACSME 2012

The Australian Conference on Science and Mathematics Education (The 18th UniServe Science Conference) is an opportunity for tertiary science and mathematics educators to share ideas and keep up to date. Science and mathematics for this conference encompasses biological sciences, chemistry, geosciences, health sciences, information technology, learning and cognitive sciences, mathematics and statistics, molecular and microbial sciences, physics and psychology as well as the various fields of the applied sciences.

The proud partners of the 2012 conference are Macquarie University, The University of Newcastle, The University of New England, The University of Sydney, The University of Technology, Sydney, The University of Western Sydney and The University of Wollongong.

IOL 2012: A forum presented by the ALTC National Teaching Fellowship and UTS Faculty of Science is a one day national forum focusing on Inquiry Oriented Learning (IOL) in science and enhancing learning through inquiry and technology. Featuring Mick Healey (UK), Gabriela Weaver (US), Roy Tasker (UWS) and Manju Sharma (USyd) it will be held at UTS just before ACSME, on Tuesday 25th Sept 2012.

To find out more and to register (it’s free) go to http://datasearch2.uts.edu.au/science/news-events/events-detail.cfm?ItemId=31131


Download a flyer to print and display.

Date and location

The conference will be from Wednesday 26 to Friday 28 September 2012 in Sydney, Australia. The venue is The University of Sydney.

Theme: Teaching and Learning Standards

The theme of this year's conference is Teaching and Learning Standards : What does a standard mean to you?

The Australian Conference on Science and Mathematics Education is a national forum to foster exchange of ideas and strategies amongst science and mathematics tertiary educators for learning and teaching in the 21st century. Our discussions at the 2012 conference will centre on measuring and benchmarking our teaching practice to provide evidence that our students are learning and achieving the “standard” of a graduate and beyond. This is partly in response to the “quality” agenda in higher education which will be regulated by the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) and the “Education Standards Framework” which will be developed and monitored by the “Higher Education Standards” panel. Already, we are well placed to meet these agendas because of the work of our discipline scholars with the Australian Tertiary Science and Mathematics community to develop “Threshold Learning Outcome” statements (LTAS) for Science and customise these for Chemistry and Mathematics. Contributions on evidence based practice in academic “teaching” and student “learning” are welcome for this conference.

Organising Committee

  • Associate Professor Pauline Ross (UWS) – CHAIR
  • Dr John Holdsworth (Newcastle)
  • Dr Ian Jamie (Macquarie)
  • Associate Professor Les Kirkup (UTS)
  • Dr Louise Lutze-Mann (UNSW)
  • Dr Glennys O’Brien (Wollongong)
  • Associate Professor Manjula Sharma (USyd)
  • Professor Ieva Stupans (UNE)
  • Dr Alexandra Yeung (USyd)

Program Committee

  • Dr Carmel Coady (UWS)
  • Dr Layna Groen (UTS)
  • Dr Tracey Kuit (UoW)
  • Dr Peter Lye (UNE)
  • Dr Erica Smith (UNE)
  • Dr Michelle Taylor (UNE)
  • A/Prof. Noel Whitaker (UNSW)