Associated Research Groups

There are several external research groups and organisations with links to the School of Physics and University of Sydney. These are generally major research facilities, or have substantial collaborations with school staff.

Anglo-Australian Observatory (AAO)


The AAO operates the Anglo-Australian and UK Schmidt optical telescopes on behalf of the astronomical communities of Australian and UK astronomical communities.

Australia Telescope National Facility (ATNF)


The ATNF supports Australia's research in radio astronomy. It is administered by the CSIRO and operates the Australia Telescope Compact Array at Narrabri and the Parkes and Mopra radio telescopes.

Australian Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis

Australian Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis

The ACMM was set up to provide a facility for excellence in research and teaching. Courses are offered by members of staff in the centre and by some of the members of staff in Physics.

Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation ( ANSTO )


The Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation ( ANSTO ) is an international centre of excellence in nuclear science and technology. ANSTO produces radiopharmaceuticals, works on a wide range of industrial and environmental problems and operates the OPAL nuclear research reactor.

Brain Dynamics Centre

Sydney's Brain Brain Dynamics Centre is a world leader in integrative neuroscience. They are helping in the fight against mental illness, through the development of integrative brain models and analysis technologies.



CAASTRO is the ARC Centre of Excellence for All-sky Astrophysics. By answering fundamental questions about the nature of the Universe, by developing innovative ways of processing enormous data-sets, and by providing a diverse set of opportunities for students and young researchers, CAASTRO aims to establish Australia as the world-leader in wide-field astronomy. CAASTRO is uniting the world’s top astronomers in a focused collaborative environment, and is changing the way we understand the Cosmos. CAASTRO is headquartered within the Sydney Institute for Astronomy (SIfA) within the School of Physics at The University of Sydney, with additional nodes at The University of Western Australia, The Australian National University, The University of Melbourne, Curtin University and The Swinburne University of Technology.



The Centre for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS) is an ARC Centre of Excellence comprising seven Australian Universities. The CUDOS vision is to be the world-leader in research in on-chip photonics, for all-optical signal processing. Six current flagship projects have developed since CUDOS's first ARC funding success in 2003, and are directed towards end user-inspired applications in the fields of Functional Metamaterials, Nanoplasmonics, Hybrid Integration, Mid-Infrared Photonics, Quantum Integrated Photonics and Terabit per second transfer speeds.

Centre for Quantum Computer Technology

The Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computer Technology is an Australian multi-university collaboration undertaking research on the fundamental physics and technology of building, at the atomic level, a solid state quantum computer in silicon together with other high potential implementations. The objective is underpinned by a vigorous semiconductor research program that includes a sophisticated quantum measurement capability at ultra-low temperatures.

Institute for Innovation in Science and Mathematics Education


Located within the University with the aim to rejuvenate science and mathematics education by enriching research, innovation, leadership, outreach, the student experience, and educator opportunities.