University Secretariat

About us

The University Secretariat manages and services Committees in three streams of governance:

  • Senate and Committees: Senate is the University’s ultimate governance body and takes its powers and responsibilities from the University of Sydney Act 1989.
  • Academic Board and Committees: Academic Board is delegated by Senate to manage the University’s academic affairs. Academic Board is a representative body and takes its powers and responsibilities from the University of Sydney (Academic Board) Rule 2017, a rule made by the Senate.
  • University Executive and Committees: UE and Committees is the University’s management committee framework, created and approved by the Vice-Chancellor.

The University Secretariat is responsible for setting the annual governance calendar; preparing meeting agendas and papers; attending and minuting meetings; and facilitating follow-up actions. The University Secretariat runs elections for positions on the Senate, Academic Board, and Faculties, and the Secretary to Senate is the University’s Returning Officer. The Secretariat also undertakes governance projects on an as-needed basis, including providing governance advice to faculties and professional units, policy review, and governance training.

Executive support for the Chancellor and Chair of Academic Board is also managed from the University Secretariat.

Information about the University of Sydney Senate, Academic Board, University Executive, and their sub-committees is available on the tabs on this page.

Contact us

Secretariat staff list
Secretariat location

Secretariat staff list

Secretariat staff list

Chair of Academic Board

Associate Professor Anthony Masters
T +61 2 9351 5655
E anthony.masters@sydney.edu.au

Secretary to Senate

David Pacey
T +61 2 9351 4839
E david.pacey@sydney.edu.au 

Manager of Governance & Deputy Secretary to Senate

Philippa Scott
T +61 2 9351 2026
philippa.scott@sydney.edu.au

Executive Assistant to the Chancellor

Joanne Saunders
T +61 2 9351 5701
E joanne.saunders@sydney.edu.au

Executive Officer to Senate

Mark Smith
T +61 2 9351 4260
E mark.j.smith@sydney.edu.au

Executive Officer to Academic Board

Dr Matthew Charet
T +61 2 9114 1356
matthew.charet@sydney.edu.au

Executive Officer to University Executive (UE)

Linda Goodman
T +61 2 8627 6301
linda.goodman@sydney.edu.au

Committee Officer

Dr Glenys Eddy
T +61 2 9351 8556
E glenys.eddy@sydney.edu.au

Committee Officer

Tanya Gerrie
T +61 2 8627 1331
tanya.gerrie@sydney.edu.au

Committee Officer

Susan Parker
T +61 2 8627 8521
susan.parker@sydney.edu.au

Committee Officer

Caroline North
T +61 2 9114 1466
E caroline.north@sydney.edu.au

Committee Officer

Natalie Zawerucha
T +61 2 9351 4316
natalie.zawerucha@sydney.edu.au

Administrative Assistant and Executive Assistant to the Chair of Academic Board

Katherine Calhau
T +61 2 9351 3268
E katherine.calhau@sydney.edu.au


Secretariat location

The University Secretariat is organisationally located in the Vice-Chancellor’s portfolio, and physically located in the Sydney University Quadrangle.