University Secretariat

About us

The University Secretariat manages and services Committees in three streams of governance:

  • Senate and Committees: Senate is the University’s ultimate governance body and takes its powers and responsibilities from the University of Sydney Act 1989.
  • Academic Board and Committees: Academic Board is delegated by Senate to manage the University’s academic affairs. Academic Board is a representative body and takes its powers and responsibilities from the University of Sydney (Academic Board) Rule 2017, a rule made by the Senate.
  • University Executive and Committees: UE and Committees is the University’s management committee framework, created and approved by the Vice-Chancellor.

The University Secretariat is responsible for setting the annual governance calendar; preparing meeting agendas and papers; attending and minuting meetings; and facilitating follow-up actions. The University Secretariat runs elections for positions on the Senate, Academic Board, and Faculties, and the Secretary to Senate is the University’s Returning Officer. The Secretariat also undertakes governance projects on an as-needed basis, including providing governance advice to faculties and professional units, policy review, and governance training.

Executive support for the Chancellor and Chair of Academic Board is also managed from the University Secretariat.

Information about the University of Sydney Senate, Academic Board, University Executive, and their sub-committees is available on the tabs on this page.

Contact us

Secretariat staff list
Secretariat location

Secretariat staff list

Secretariat staff list

Chair of Academic Board

A/Prof Anthony Masters
T +61 2 9351 5655

Secretary to Senate (on leave to 1 March 2018)

David Pacey
T +61 2 9351 4839

Acting Secretary to Senate (to 1 March 2018)

Manager of Governance & Deputy Secretary to Senate

Philippa Scott
T +61 2 9351 2026

Executive Assistant to the Chancellor

Joanne Saunders
T +61 2 9351 5701

Executive Officer to Senate and University Executive (UE)

Mark Smith
T +61 2 9351 4260

Executive Officer to Academic Board

Dr Matthew Charet
T +61 2 9114 1356

Executive Officer to Strategy Governance Board and Senate Committees

Linda Goodman
T +61 2 8627 6301

Committee Officer

Tanya Gerrie
T +61 2 8627 1331

Committee Officer

Sarah Hepworth
T +61 2 9114 1468

Committee Officer

Caroline North
T +61 2 9114 1466

Committee Officer

Jacqueline Toroian
T +61 2 8627 6906

Committee Officer

Alyssa White
T +61 2 8627 6905

Committee Officer

Natalie Zawerucha
T +61 2 9351 4316

Administrative Assistant and Executive Assistant to the Chair of Academic Board

Kate Calhau
T +61 2 9351 3268


For a list of current committee allocations, please see the Secretariat committee allocations list.

Secretariat location

The University Secretariat is organisationally located in the Vice-Chancellor’s portfolio, and physically located in the Sydney University Quadrangle.