Skip to main content
Photo of a stairwell at the University of Sydney

Our academic leaders

Faculties and University Schools

Our deans bring expertise from both within and outside academia to their roles. They ensure the highest standards in teaching and research are maintained and lead their academic community’s external engagement.

Professor Barbara Caine

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Dean: Professor Annamarie Jagose, PhD (Wellington), FAHA

Biography: Professor Jagose is known internationally as a scholar in feminist and queer studies whose work has contributed to post-Foucauldian understandings of sexual acts and identities. Her recent publications challenge the axiomatic centrality of antinormativity in queer analysis and politics. She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities and has held named fellowships at Johns Hopkins University, Northwestern University and the University of Manchester. She is also an award-winning novelist and short story writer.

Read Professor Jagose’s academic profile.

Professor Chris Peck

Faculty of Dentistry

Dean: Professor Chris Peck MScDent Sydney PhD BrCol GradDipScMed (Pain) Sydney, GAIC

Biography: A Sydney alumnus, Professor Peck completed his dental training, a Masters in Occlusion and a Graduate Diploma in Pain Management before completing his PhD at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver on structure-function relationships of the human masticatory system. He is President of the Australian and New Zealand Academy of Orofacial Pain.

Read Professor Peck's academic profile.

Professor Kim Rassmussen

Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

Dean: Professor Kim Rasmussen (Acting) MSci (Eng) Denmark, PhD Sydney

Professor Rasmussen is Challis Professor of Civil Engineering and served as the Head of School Civil Engineering at the University of Sydney for 11 years. He has previously held the roles of Deputy Dean and Associate Dean, Research (Management and Education). He is Chairman of the Centre for Advanced Structural Engineering, and has published more than 150 journal papers, 180 conference papers and 190 research and investigation reports.

Read Professor Rasmussen's academic profile.

Professor Kathryn Refshauge

Faculty of Health Sciences

Dean: Professor Kathryn Refshauge MBiomedE PhD UNSW DipPhty GradDipManipTher Cumb

Biography: Professor Refshauge is an internationally recognised leader in research in musculoskeletal injury, in particular sports injuries, back pain and neck pain. She is a board member of Sports Medicine Australia, and a member of the Australian Physiotherapy Association, the Musculoskeletal Physiotherapists Association and the NSW Population and Health Services Research Committee.

Read Professor Refshauge's academic profile.

Professor Arthur Conigrave

The University of Sydney Medical School

Dean: Professor Arthur Conigrave BSc (Med), MBBS, MSc, PhD, MD, FRACP

Biography: Professor Conigrave is an endocrinologist specialising in the clinical management of patients with metabolic bone disease (including osteoporosis and disorders of calcium metabolism), and an internationally recognised researcher in molecular endocrinology. He is past Chair of the NHMRC Grant Review Panel in Musculoskeletal Medicine and a two-time winner of the Lilly Endocrinology Research Awards.

Read Professor Conigrave's academic profile.

Professor Donna Waters

The University of Sydney Nursing School

Dean: Professor Donna Waters RN PhD MPH Sydney BA Macquarie Paed Cert, FCN

Biography: Professor Waters is a registered general and obstetric nurse with 25 years’ experience in the management of nursing, medical and health services research. She has a special interest in evidence-based practice – particularly innovations and strategies that aid the transfer and implementation of research evidence into clinical practice.

Read Professor Waters' academic profile.

Professor Andrew McLachlan

Faculty of Pharmacy

Dean: Professor Andrew McLachlan  BPharm, PhD, FPS, FACP, MCPA, MSHPA


A pharmacist and researcher experienced in clinical and experimental pharmacology and research on the quality use of medicines, Professor McLachlan has a strong record of academic achievement, as well as a significant record of leadership in the broader health sector and community. Professor McLachlan is the Program Director, NHMRC Centre for Research Excellence in Medicines and Ageing.

Read Professor McLachlan's academic profile.

Professor Trevor Hambley

Faculty of Science

Dean: Professor Trevor Hambley BSc UWA PhD Adelaide, FRACI CChem

Biography: Professor Hambley is the elected president of the Council of the Society of Biological Inorganic Chemistry, the peak international body in this area. He is spearheading new methods for monitoring and modifying the distribution of anticancer drugs in solid tumours and new methods for identifying and targeting tumours.

Read Professor Hambley's academic profile.

Professor Gregory Whitwell

The University of Sydney Business School

Dean: Professor Gregory Whitwell BEc (Hons) Monash PhD Melbourne

Biography: Professor Whitwell’s past appointments include Professor of Marketing and Senior Deputy Dean of the Australian School of Business at the University of New South Wales, and Deputy Dean and Director (Graduate School of Business and Economics) in the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne.

Read Professor Whitwell's academic profile.

Professor John Redmond

The University of Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning

Head of School and Dean: Professor John Redmond BA CSAD MA(RCA) RCA DipID(Eng) CSAD, FRSA AADM FDIA

Biography: Professor Redmond’s work has mainly been industry-based research and practice, focusing on industrial design but also covering communications design and the design of environments.

Read Professor Redmond's academic profile.

Professor Joellen Riley

The University of Sydney Law School

Head of School and Dean: Professor Joellen Riley BA MA LLB PhD Sydney BCL Oxf DipMgt MGSM

Biography: Professor Joellen Riley holds degrees in law from the universities of Sydney and Oxford. She has been teaching and researching in the field of employment and labour law since 1998. She is a Fellow of the Commercial Law Association and since 2008 she has been a co-editor of the Australian Journal of Labour Law.

Read Professor Riley's academic profile.

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Head of School and Dean: Professor Anna Reid BMus (Perf) Sydney MA EdAdmin UNE PhD UTS

Biography: An alumna of the University of Sydney, Professor Anna Reid has been a tertiary educator her entire career. She undertakes research in musician identity, creativity theory and practice, cultural heritage and sustainability, and higher education. She is also a cellist and viola da gamba player.

Professor Reid’s academic profile.