Our Academic Staff

Associate Professor Thomas Crofts

Room: 512
Phone: +61 2 9351 0474
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
thomas.croft@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Comparative criminal law
Criminalisation
Criminal law reform
Criminal responsibility
Juvenile justice

Rebecca Scott Bray

Senior Lecturer, Socio-Legal Studies
Room: 139 RC Mills Building, A26
Phone: +61 2 9351 4086
Fax: +61 2 9036 9380
rebecca.scottbray@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Death and the law
Coronial law and practice
Forensic medicine and science
Cultural criminology
Crime, law and aesthetics

Garner Clancey
Garner Clancey:
Deputy Director

Lecturer
Room: 514
Phone: +61 2 9351 0473
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
garner.clancey@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Crime prevention
Place-based analysis of crime
Securitisation
Youth crime
Juvenile Justice

Professor Mark Findlay
Professor Mark Findlay:
Deputy Director

Room: 528
Phone: +61 2 9351 0225
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
mark.findlay@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Criminal Law
Comparative Criminal Justice
Crime and Global Governance
International Criminal Justice

Ross Abbs

Lecturer
Room: 508
Phone: +61 2 9351 0477
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
ross.abb@sydney.edu.au

Dr Louise Boon-Kuo

Lecturer
Room: 536
Phone: +61 2 9351 0288
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
louise.boon-kuo@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Border policing, migration and citizenship
Policing and criminal justice
Race and racism
Accountability and jurisdiction

Emeritus Professor Terry Carney

Room: 542
Phone: +61 2 9351 0228
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
terry.carney@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Social Security and Welfare Law (income transfer payments and welfare services)
Adult Guardianship and Competence
Mental Health Law and Policy
Ageing and Disability
Drugs, Drug Law and Policy
Child Welfare and Youth Law

Professor Judy Cashmore

Room: 641
+61 2 9351 0469
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
judith.cashmore@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Family law
Child protection and child welfare
Children's evidence
Children's participation in legal proceedings
Child sexual assault

Honorary Professor Duncan Chappell

Adjunct Professor
duncan.chappell@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Mental Health Law and Policy
Criminal Law
Occupational Violence
Comparative Policing
Sentencing

Graeme Coss
Graeme Coss

Room: 523
Phone: +61 2 9351 0227
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200

Areas of Interest:
Masculinity and Crime
Criminal Defences
Homicide
Violence against Women
Clinical Legal Education

Adjunct Professor Nicholas Cowdery AM QC
Nicholas Cowdery AM QC

Adjunct Professor
nicholas.cowdery@sydney.edu.au

Areas of interest:
Criminal Law
Criminal Procedure and the Exercise of Discretion
Sentencing
Human Rights Protection
Drug Law and Policy

Andrew Dyer

Colin Phegan Lecturer
Room: 633
+61 2 8627 8507
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
andrew.dyer@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Criminal Law doctrine
Criminal Law theory
Sentencing
Human/constitutional rights law
Free speech law

Associate Professor Salim Farrar

Room: 643
+61 2 9351 0393
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
salim.farrar@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Islamic Law
'Human Rights'
Criminal Justice
Comparative Criminal Justice in Asia

Associate Professor David Hamer

Room: 516
Phone: +61 2 9351 0242
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
david.hamer@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Wrongful convictions
Criminal procedure
Evidence law
The logic of inference
Causation and risk

Dr Deirdre Howard-Wagner

Senior Research Fellow
Room: 157 RC Mills Building, A26
+61 2 9351 0393
Fax: +61 2 9351 6679
deirdre.howard-wagner@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Young adults, alcohol, criminal, deviant and risk taking behaviour
Alcohol-related crime in public spaces
Indigenous criminal justice
Indigenous social and legal justice
Refugees, citizenship and the law

Professor Michael Humphrey

Room: 128 RC Mills Building, A26
+61 2 9351 0393
Fax: +61 2 9351 6901
michael.humphrey@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Human rights
Terrorism
Transitional justice
Trauma and victim politics
Victims and victimhood

Miiko Kumar

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +61 2 9351 0261
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
miiko.kumar@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Secrecy and the law: open justice, public interest immunity, closed material procedures, special advocates
Privacy rights and suppression orders
Competency of children
Expert evidence and the basis rule

Associate Professor Murray Lee

Room: 520
Phone: +61 2 9351 0443
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
murray.lee@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Fear of Crime
Crime and Social Isolation
Criminological Theory
Rural Violence
Criminalisation of Drug Use

Associate Professor Arlie Loughnan

Research Fellow
Room: 527
Phone: +61 2 9351 0246
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
arlie.loughnan@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Criminal Law Theory
Jurisprudence
Legal History
Mental Health Law
Feminist Theory

Dr Greg Martin

Senior Lecturer
Room: Room 149, RC Mills Building, A26
Phone: +61 2 9351 3319
Fax: +61 2 9036 9380
greg.martin@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Cultural criminology
Political sociology
Protest and public order policing
Social movements
Youth studies

Professor Gail Mason

Room: 522
Phone: +61 2 9351 0326
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
gail.mason@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Hate crime, homophobic violence and racist violence
Harassment and discrimination law
Poststructural, Foucauldian and feminist theory
Law and emotion
Gender, sexuality and law

Tanya Mitchell

Lecturer
Room: 518
Phone: +61 2 9351 0308
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
tanya.mitchell@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Criminal Law and Human Rights
Criminal Law and Culture
Criminal Procedure

Professor Pat O

pat.omalley@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Risk and Security
Social and criminological theory
Criminal Justice
Modern legal sanctions

Dr Helen Paterson

Senior Lecturer
Room: 439, Brennan MacCallum Building, A18
Phone: +61 2 9036 9403
Fax: +61 2 9036 5223
helen.paterson@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Eyewitness memory
Eyewitness identification procedures
Social contagion of memory
Post-incident debriefing
Interviewing witnesses

Associate Professor Kane Race

Room: J407, Main Quadrangle, A14
Phone: +61 2 9351 3662
Fax: +61 2 9351 3918
kane.race@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Night-time economies
Drug policy and policing
Sexualities
HIV/AIDS
Consumer culture

Associate Professor Kristin Savell

Senior Lecturer
Room: 536
Phone: +61 2 9351 0442
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
kristin.savell@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Criminal Law
Health Law
Feminist Legal Theory

Kevin Schnepel

Lecturer
Room: 356 Merewether Building, H04
Phone: +61 2 9351 7079
Fax: +61 2 9036 9380
kevin.schnepel@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Economics of crime
Low skill labor markets
Public assistance and social policy
Public health policy and crime
Empirical legal studies

Associate Professor Rita Shackel

Room: 525
Phone: +61 2 9351 0368
Fax: +61 2 9351 0200
rita.shackel@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Criminal Law & Criminal Processes
Children, Juveniles and Law
Ethics, the Legal Profession and Dispute Resolution
Evidence & Procedure
Law, Psychology and Mental Health
Victimology

Dr Celine Van Golde

Lecturer
Room: A19 Griffith Taylor Building
Phone: +61 2 9351 4026
celine.vangolde@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Reliability of children as eyewitnesses
Eyewitness memory in children and adults
Interviewing witnesses
False memories in forensic context

Sophie Russell

Institute Assistant
Room: 519
Phone: +61 2 8627 0307
law.criminology@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Crime prevention
Desistance from crime
Models of post-release support
People with complex needs in the criminal justice system



Our Research Members

Pota Forrest-Lawrence

PhD student
phat4720@uni.sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Drug Law and Policy, Drugs
Young people and risk
Criminological theory
Cybercrime
Policing and mental health
Crime Prevention

PhD student
carolyn.mckay@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Video conferencing technologies in prisons and courtrooms
Criminal process
Interdisciplinary research methodologies
Foucault, phenomenology and theories of embodiment
Aesthetics and visual representation
Surveillance and biometrics

Janice Sim

PhD student
janice.sim@sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Criminal Justice and Penal Philosophy
Critical Social Theory
Family and child law
Familial homicide
Risks and Governance
Law, Crime and Representation

PhD student
lste3263@uni.sydney.edu.au

Areas of Interest:
Forensic mental health law
Cognitive impairment and the law
Women in prison
Legal theory, disability theory & feminist theory
Social justice and human rights
Therapeutic jurisprudence