Robert W Storr Professor

The Robert W Storr Chair of Hepatic Medicine was established in 1993 under a legacy to the Sydney Medical School Foundation from the Late Robert W Storr.

Professor Jacob George

Jacob George

Professor Jacob George was appointed to the Robert W Storr Chair of Hepatic Medicine in November 2006.

Professor George joined the University of Sydney in 1998 after undertaking postdoctoral research at the University of California, San Francisco where he received the American Liver Foundation Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in 1996.

His research focuses on non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) and hepatic fibrosis. He is also researching the molecular and cellular basis for disease progression in chronic hepatitis C.

Professor Geoff Farrell

Geoff Farrell

The Robert W Storr Chair of Hepatic Medicine was held by Professor Geoff Farrell from inception until January 2006.

Professor Farrell is a world leader in the field of research into the pathogenesis of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and particularly its clinically relevant form, non alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH).