Skip to main content
University_

Pride Network

Creating a stronger and more inclusive environment
The Pride Network supports the inclusion of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) members of our community.

What we do

Our aim is for all members of our community to feel supported and free to contribute their best, regardless of gender, sex characteristics or sexual orientation. Our network will:

  • help to create a welcoming, safe and supportive environment for everyone who is lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex or queer
  • promote cultural change and support our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive community by raising LGBTIQ awareness
  • challenge homophobia, transphobia and biphobia and homophobic attitudes and behaviours
  • give LGBTIQ staff and students a voice by providing a channel to raise concerns and issues to the University leadership
  • celebrate important LGBTIQ calendar events throughout the year. 

Our role

Our network is open to everyone, regardless of their sexual orientation, sex characteristics or gender identity, who supports LGBTIQ inclusion. Members have completed training and are available to support LGBTIQ staff and students and answer any questions they may have. Our members: 

  • are staff and students
  • are LGBTIQ friendly and trained to support LGBTIQ issues
  • provide a safe and confidential environment for people to ask questions about LGBTIQ diversity
  • attend training, formally sign a pledge of support and treat all conversations and approaches as strictly confidential
  • show leadership through their public support of sexual diversity
  • display a sticker at their workstation or office door and identify themselves as members
  • promote respect and inclusion of LGBTIQ staff and students and role model non-discriminatory practices and language
  • proactively combat, wherever possible, homophobia, transphobia and biphobia and heterosexism on campus

Want to speak to someone? We have a large network of allies on campus that you can contact. Please note, contacts are not experts in LGBTIQ issues and may or may not be from the LGBTIQ community.

Join us

All staff and students are welcome to join our Network and do not have to complete the training to support us. If you would like to receive notices about upcoming meetings, events and relevant information please join our mailing list

For more information about our community and to find out how to join the Pride Network, you can visit the pages below. 

  • Students: visit the student website for instructions on how to join. 
  • Staff: staff can visit the staff intranet to register to complete sexual, gender diversity and ally training. You will need a UniKey to log on. 

LGBTIQ Student Support Liaison Officers

The LGBTIQ Student Support Liaison Officers (SSLOs) promote inclusion and support for LGBTIQ students at the University. SSLOs act as a contact and support for international students, provide information about resources to promote health, safety and connection with other students and the community, and support gender affirmation/transition.

Name Email School
Christie Adamson christie.adamson@sydney.edu.au Sydney Nursing School
Matthew Pye matthew.pye@sydney.edu.au School of Life and Environemental Sciences
Christopher Hunt christopher.hunt@sydney.edu.au School of Psychology
Gemma Smart gemma.smart@sydney.edu.au School of History and Philosophy of Science
Jonathan Hill jonathan.hill@sydney.edu.au Concord Clinical School
Andrew Terry a.terry@sydney.edu.au Sydney Dentistry School
Daniele Gianotti daniele.gianotti@sydney.edu.au Sydney Medical School
Netani Ralulu netani.ralulu@sydney.edu.au Sydney Nursing School
Dale Dominey-Howes dale.gominey-howes@sydney.edu.au School of Geosciences
Timothy Lee t.lee@sydney.edu.au School of Life and Environemental Sciences
Fahad Ali fahad.ali@sydney.edu.au School of Life and Environemental Sciences
John Ormerod john.ormerod@sydney.edu.au School of Mathematics and Statistics
David Thompson d.thompson@sydney.edu.au Sydney Conservatorium of Music
Wes Hamilton-Jessop wes.hamilton.jessop@sydney.edu.au University of Sydney Business School
Celine Van Golde celine.vangolde@sydney.edu.au School of Psychology
Cat Webb cat.webb@sydney.edu.au School of Psychology
Eleonora Tsiknas Kazantzis eleonora.kazantzis@sydney.edu.au Faculty of Arts and Social Science
Timothy Humphrys timothy.humphrys@sydney.edu.au School of Mathematics and Statistics
Owen Vandenberg owen.vandenberg@sydney.edu.au School of Physics

Pride Network members on campus

  • Jaki King, St Andrew's College (+61 2 9565 7329) 
  • Katy Cuthbert, International House (+61 2 9517 5028) 
  • Natalie Smith, Dean of the Women's College (+61 2 9950 9800) 
  • Tony Walters, Vice-rector St John's College (+61 2 9394 5000) 

Mardi Gras

As part of our commitment to diversity and inclusion at the University, we're partnering with the Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras in 2019 as an official event supporter – marking our fourth year of involvement in the event. The official Mardi Gras theme for this year is Fearless and we're putting together a vibrant float that embodies this theme: Knowledge conquers fear. 

Interested in participating with us? Learn more about our involvement and submit an expression of interest now. 

Note on terminology

At the University of Sydney, ‘LGBTIQ’ is used as an inclusive umbrella term that recognises the diversity and experiences of sexualities, sex characteristics and genders. We acknowledge that this terminology is a source of ongoing community debate and may not reflect the preferred identification of individuals.

The Pride Network, formerly known as the Ally Network, recently underwent a process to rebrand, refresh and update our name. We hope that our new name will provide more meaning and openness for our LGBTIQ communities and encourage more members and supporters of the work that we do.


We're proud to be recognised as a silver employer of choice for the Australian Workplace Equality Index. Find out more about our work on diversity and inclusion.  

News_

Sydney awarded Silver at the Australian LGBTI Inclusion Awards

Work to improve LGBTIQ inclusion at the University recognised

The University of Sydney has been named as a Silver Employer at the Australian LGBTI Inclusion Awards, up from last year's Bronze award.

Support resources for students and staff

131.1KB
Download PDF

Pride Network

Support and advice

Contact the Pride Network for support and advice.

Related articles