Skip to main content

SIT Industry Advisory Board

Where industry and academia intersect

Our links with research laboratories and industry partners complement our collaboration with companies such as Microsoft, IBM and CISCO. We also connect with hospitals through our biomedical and health informatics research programs.

About us

The School of Information Technologies has a dynamic and engaged Industry Advisory Board. Its objectives are to:

  • advise the School's academics on emerging industry trends, opportunities and skills requirements into the future and thereby help the School’s strategic planning and curriculum development
  • help connect students with opportunities for internships and undertake real-world projects in industry settings
  • provide access to guest speakers who can address students on relevant industry technology trends and challenges as well as insights into the changes that technology is making in their organisations
  • help the School’s academics and students understand the research priorities and needs of industry and government organisations.

The overarching expectation from the Industry Advisory Board is that it will assist the School to engage in useful and industry-relevant research.

If you are interested in joining the Advisory Board, or in obtaining further information about its activities email John Warren, Manager External Relations.

External board members

  • Mr Quinton Anderson, Head of Engineering, Analytics and Information
  • Dr Michael Cahill, Director of Engineering (Storage), MongoDB Inc.
  • Mr Graham Carrick, Senior Development Manager, Atlassian
  • Mr Michael Clark, Director Technical Strategy, Thales Australia Pty Limited
  • Mr Lawrence Crumpton, Technology Evangelist, Microsoft Australia
  • Mr Jae Debrincat, General Manager, e-Corner Pty Ltd
  • Ms Berne Gibbons, Director, Vitro Software ANZ
  • Dr Anna Liu, Innovation and Partnership, Amazon Web Services
  • Mr Nik Lukich, Director Universities, Telstra
  • Dr Ian Oppermann, CEO and Chief Data Scientist, New South Wales Government, NSW Data Analytics Centre
  • Mr Jeff Smoot, CEO, Vitro Software ANZ
  • Professor Aruna Seneviratne, Research Director, Data61
  • Mr Duncan Stone, Director, Open Innovation, Economics and Policy, PwC
  • Mr Luther Uthayakumaran, Senior Leader - Strategy, Analytics and Innovation, Sydney Water
  • Ms Sally-Ann Williams, Engineering Community and Outreach Program Manager, Google