Course structure and curriculum

The subjects that make up the curriculum are outlined below. Twenty subjects must be completed less any exemptions granted by the LPAB. Currently there are seventeen compulsory subjects and students choose three elective subjects. The first eleven subjects must be taken in sequence, as shown below, unless there is an exceptional reason to vary this order. Thereafter, the remaining subjects can be taken in any order.

Compulsory subjects

  • Legal Institutions
  • Criminal Law and Procedure
  • Torts
  • Contracts
  • Real Property
  • Australian Constitutional Law
  • Equity
  • Commercial Transactions
  • Administrative Law
  • Law of Associations
  • Evidence
  • Taxation and Revenue Law
  • Succession
  • Conveyancing
  • Practice and Procedure
  • Legal Ethics
  • Jurisprudence

Elective subjects (3 must be taken)

  • Insolvency
  • Conflict of Laws
  • Family Law
  • Local Government & Planning Law
  • Industrial Law
  • Intellectual Property Law
  • Public International Law
  • Competition & Consumer Law
  • Understanding Legal Language & Legislation

Progression through the course

The first eleven subjects must be taken in sequential order, the remainder may be taken in any order. The first eight subjects may only be undertaken at the rate of two subjects per semester thereafter three subjects per semester.

On that basis it is possible to complete the course in four years part time however students can apply to the LPAB to vary these requirements.

It is also required by the LPAB that students sit for at least two subjects in two successive semesters and also that no more than two failures in a subject is permitted. Students may apply to the LPAB for relief from these requirements.