Skip to main content

Our research excellence awarded

23 September 2015
Four University of Sydney researchers recognised

Research into pharmaceuticals, cardiology, treatments for ventilated patients, and chronic diseases has been recognised at the NHMRC Excellence Awards.

Image of cardiology graph and pharmaceutical pills

Federal Minister for Health Sussan Ley presented the awards at the NHMRC Council dinner in Canberra last night.

NHMRC CEO Professor Anne Kelso described this year's awardees as being among the highest-performing NHMRC-funded researchers.

"These researchers are representative of the fine research talent that exists at the University of Sydney," Professor Kelso said.

"Australia is a world leader in health and medical research and these researchers will no doubt continue to make a strong contribution to improving the health of all Australians."

This year's recipients included Professor Anushka Patel and Associate Professor Ian Seppelt from The George Institute; Associate Professor Ian Kerridge, a bioethicist from the Centre for Values, Ethics and the Law in Medicine; and clinical lecturer in addiction medicine Dr Jonathan Brett from Sydney Medical School.

Professor Patel was awarded the Elizabeth Blackburn Fellowship for Public Health for her research into effective treatments for the prevention and management of cardiovascular and other chronic diseases.

Associate Professor Seppelt's proposal to conduct a clinical trial to test the impacts of treatments for critically ill ventilated patients was awarded the highest ranked project grant. The trial will consist of 23,000 participants in intensive care units across Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the UK.

Associate Professor Kerridge received the Ethics Award for dissecting ethical issues in health practice and policy, and promoting high ethical standards in health care and research.

Dr Brett received the Gustav Nossal Scholarship for his research into pharmaceutical wastage, including off-label prescribing and psychotropic polypharmacy in elderly patients.

For more information about the award recipients, visit the NHMRC website.