Skip to main content
Custom-built physics instruments
Faculties and schools_

School of Physics

Driving world-changing innovation through the fundamental science
With access to supercomputers, modern laboratory facilities and observatories, locally, nationally and internationally, we conduct research across a vast range of interests from quantum science to clusters of galaxies.

The School of Physics at the University of Sydney is the leading physics department in the country, with outstanding staff and students undertaking world-leading teaching and research.

In the most recent Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) report, we were the only physical sciences school in Australia to receive a perfect score in all eight categories, and achieved a top score of five in every category.

Our 120 staff and 160 postgraduate students conduct research across a vast range of interests. The School of Physics is the premier environment for physics education and research.

Our research expertise and our facilities offer a wide range of expertise to industry in diverse areas such as:

  • projects involving mathematical analysis of a system
  • optical system evaluation and design
  • optical coatings
  • microscopic imaging
  • image processing and visualisation
  • environmental testing, such as levels of electromagnetic radiation
  • energy efficiency and solar energy usage
  • evacuated glazing
  • computer control

and many others.

Explore our industry partnerships and how we can help.

The School of Physics, like the University of Sydney as a whole, aims to provide an environment for learning and working where our students, staff and visitors feel comfortable and included. Learn more about our equity, access and diversity initiatives.

Our people

Professor Celine Boehm
Head of School

Professor Zdenka Kuncic
Deputy Head of School

Clara Spencer
School Manager

Professor Stephen Bartlett
Associate Head of Research

Professor Mike Wheatland
Associate Head of Education

Associate Professor Helen Johnston
1st Year Coordinator

Professor Iver Cairns
2nd Year Coordinator

Associate Professor Boris Kuhlmey
3rd Year Coordinator

Associate Professor Bruce Yabsley
Honours Coordinator

Dr Svetlana Postnova
Postgraduate Admissions Coordinator

Professor Kevin Varvell
Postgraduate Candidature Coordinator


Choose Your Own Apocalypse

Wed October 30 2019

From Armageddon to Zombieland, we've seen apocalypse predications play out on the big screen. Now our panel of experts will pitch their hypothesis... then you can decide our most likely fate.

Head of School

Professor Celine Boehm
View academic profile

Physics activities

Useful Links

School of Physics

  • +61 2 9351 3037 (General enquiries/ Reception)
  • Room 210 Physics A28

Latest news