Skip to main content

Internal Management Group (IMG)

The members of the Lambert Initiative's Internal Management Group

The Internal Management Group (IMG) is responsible for the leadership, implementation and management of the Lambert Initiative for Cannabinoid Therapeutics. 

The appointed members have extensive expertise in a range of related fields and have been carefully selected to represent the University, and the Faculties of Science and Medicine. The IMG is governed by Terms of Reference.

Prof Iain Young

Professor Iain Young

Dean, Faculty of Science

Nominee of the Dean of Faculty of Science (Chair)

Professor Iain Young, in his capacity as Dean of the University of Sydney's Faculty of Science, is the head of one of the largest science organisations in Australia. With over 6,500 students and 26.1% and 18.6% of University research and teaching income respectively, the Faculty is large and complex in its structure.

Iain completed his BSc (Hons) at Aberdeen University in 1984, then obtaining a PhD in Soil Physics (1987) in the same institution. He then moved to The Scottish Crop Research Institution (SCRI) as a Research Leader in 1988 - now theJames Hutton Institute. Spending 12 years at SCRI, he became Head of the multidisciplinary Soil-Plant Dynamics group, before moving to Abertay University as the Founding Director and Professor of the Scottish Informatics Mathematics, Biology and Statistics (SIMBIOS) Centre. During Iain’s tenure at SIMBIOS, the group was assessed as in the top five research teams in Environmental science in the UK.

Profile shot of MacDonald Christie

Professor MacDonald Christie

Associate Dean (Research) of the Sydney Medical School

Macdonald (Mac) Christie is a Professor of Pharmacology and Associate Dean (Research) in the Sydney Medical School. Professor Christie is internationally renowned for his studies on ion channel function and neural network plasticity in nervous system disorders such as chronic pain and drug dependence. He leads a research team that studies cellular and molecular mechanisms in opioid receptor signaling in pain pathways, the biological basis of adaptations that produce chronic pain and drug dependence, and is Chief Investigator on a NHMRC Program grant involving preclinical development of novel pain therapeutics.

Professor Christie is a past Director (Basic Research) and Professor at the Pain Management Research Institute, Royal North Shore Hospital, and Director of Pain and Addiction Research at the Brain and Mind Centre, University of Sydney. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Woolcock Institute of Medical Research and of the Sydney Cancer Institute and member of the NSW Tissue Resource Centre Management Committee.


Profile shot of Laurent Rivory

Professor Laurent Rivory

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Strategic Collaborations & Partnerships

Nominee of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Laurent Rivory is the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Strategic Collaborations & Partnerships, in the office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research).

Professor Rivory’s role has a particular focus on the areas where cross-faculty engagement and external partnerships are integral to the academic enterprise. Responsibilities include large-scale collaborations such as the Charles Perkins Centre and the Brain and Mind Centre, the Core Research Facilities, and the management of external partnerships, particularly in health. He sits in a number of Advisory Boards which include, among others, the NSW Medicinal Cannabis Advisory Council and the Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Research Facility Advisory Board.

Professor Rivory has over 20 years’ experience in research and leadership, which has spanned the higher education, hospital and industry sectors.

Ex Officio Members:

Lambert Initiative Academic Leadership Team