Gut microbiome

Getting to the guts of weight control

The Charles Perkins Centre has brought together a multidisciplinary team of microbiologists, neuropathologists, nutrition scientists and behavioural psychologists to investigate exactly how our gut microorganisms interact with the rest of our bodies. Their aim is to develop strategies that will take these interactions into account in helping us to maintain a healthy weight.

Our gut houses an enormous population of microorganisms, with each of us having an individual gut microorganism ‘profile’. The activity of these microorganisms modifies the chemical composition of the food we eat, influencing how our bodies use it to produce energy and fight disease. Despite their microscopic size these tiny living things therefore hold significant sway over the major regulatory control systems of the body, including our metabolic, immune and nervous systems, and ultimately over our food choices and other behaviours.

The primary aim of this research group, led by Associate Professor Andre Holmes from the School of Molecular Bioscience, is to determine both the nature and the extent of the influence of these gut microorganisms on the overall functioning of the human body.
By uniquely collaborating across complementary but traditionally separate disciplines, the group will then correlate its findings to develop personalised lifestyle interventions that take into account each individual’s gut microorganism profile, making successful weight management more achievable.

Project node leader

Associate Professor Andrew Holmes

Collaboration team

Dr Eline Klaassens School of Molecular Bioscience, Science
Elissa Liew  
Laura Woolfenden  
Mia Zeric  
Feyza Colakoglu  
Chau Le  
Professor Stephen Simpson School of Biological Sciences, Sciences
Professor Ian Caterson Boden Institute of Obesity, Nutrition, Exercise & Eating Disorders
Dr Markus Hofer School of Molecular Bioscience, Science
Professor Peter Reeves School of Molecular Bioscience, Science
Dr Kim Bell-Anderson School of Molecular Bioscience, Science
Associate Professor Anand Hardiker  
Professor Len Storlien Sydney Medical School
Associate Professor Greg Cooney  
Professor Ian Paulsen  
Professor Jon Iredell  
Dr Sally Partridge  
Nick Fuller  
Dr Liam Elbourne  
Fleur Ponton  
Ken Wilson  
Anandwardha Hardikar  
Trevor Lockett  
Julie  Clarke  
David Topping  
Clarissa Asha Febinia  
Herawati Sudoyo  
Sarafina Malik  
Ketut Suastika  
Asha Febinia